We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hotel in wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had 2 nights here after a long drive from Rororua and this was a fantastic choice.We had a 2 bedroom,2 bathroom apartment with full facilities,including a washing machine.I think the Bolton is primarily a business hotel probably due to its location but don't let that put you off.The staff were very efficient and friendly and though valet parking wasn't cheap,this is after all a capital city.My wife is still waxing lyrical about this hotel and indeed if we ever return to this superb city this would be our first choice for accomodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Bolton Hotel Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were treated to a complimentary all expenses paid return package after being disappointed with our original stay, it was my husbands birthday treat, and the pool had started leaking during dinner service, fire alarms were going off etc..

The way the hotel handled that situation was superb and they offered to have us back to have a round 2 birthday stay.

When we arrived we had a better room, a personally written letter addressed to us welcoming us back and as a surprise they had shouted us a three course meal with a complimentary bottle of wine!

Congratulations to the staff for thier excellent turning around a bad situation, and particularly to the food and beverage manager Hadleigh for making us feel special.

The food at the restuarant was to die for, perfectly sized portions so a three course meal was completely satisfying.

Breakfast was equally as scrumptious and eating in your robe in your room is awesome!

The bed was very very comfy, the facilities were perfectly clean and we cannot fault our stay not one little bit.

Perfect for a weekend getaway as it's not so busy being more of a "buisness" type hotel, which means we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ainslee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was delighted you had taken the time to write a review following the previous experience when it was necessary for us to close our kitchen due to equipment failure and water flooding. Thank you again,very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent two nights here in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 9th floor. Bedrooms were a good size, one with an ensuite and the other with a smaller bathroom next to it. Lounge and kitchen area quite small but was perfect for our needs. Lounge chairs and lounge not that comfortable when sitting on them for a long period of time after a full day out walking around Wellington. Bathroom facilities fantastic, the kitchen had a fridge, dishwasher, oven and hotplates and enough cutlery and crockery. There wasn't a lot of information in the room about where to go to buy supplies ie bread, milk etc and we wanted to utilise the kitchen facilities for breakfast. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment but did have room service the first night and the meal was great but pricey (as room service meals are). Very quiet location but still an easy walk to Lambton Quay and we walked to Te Papa Museum from there as well (it is a long walk though). Reception and conceirge staff fantastic, as were the cleaners. Bed was comfortable and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackjenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, good size rooms and great service. Very central to everything and it is good having the kitchen although some rooms have bigger kitchens than others. Staff are really helpful and the rooms have everything you need

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest_06_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in a Queen Premier Twin Room. Room was very clean with small kitchenette which had everything you needed.
Great location as it is away from the traffic but still close to everything
Breakfast was the only meal we had at the Hotel and it was expensive so unless it is included in your room rate don't bother.
I would stay at the Bolton again.

Room Tip: Room we had was on the western side of the building and in the afternoon we were unable to see the t...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Why we chose the Bolton:
I always stay in the Bolton when visiting Wellington. It is small, discreet and quiet and close to the CBD. The rooms are clean and neat, beds comfortable and the service is impeccable.
What was included: We chose the Autumn Affair package. It includes a buffet breakfast at the in-house restaurant, Artisan. It also included a welcoming platter which was a little small and not that impressive. We received a complimentary upgrade to a larger room which overlooked the historic cemetary next door.
What I particularly liked: The Bolton organised a taxi to pick us up at the airport. It was a Corporate cab (very nice) at a better rate than we would get it we hired a taxi casually.
What I was disappointed in: The rooms are starting to need a tidy up. The shower door would not close properly which made the bathroom door wet. Some of the tiles are starting to need re-grouted.
Will I stay again: Yes. I like the facilities, location and the extras which are available. There is also a lap pool and gym.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the park cemetary. It was quiet and a pleasant outlook.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onlyslightlymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I have noted your comment on the shower door, these can be adjusted to ensure they close, however it is not possible to make these 100% waterproof.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great apartment-hotel - perfect for travelling with children as it has self-catering facilities like a microwave, fridge, dishwasher etc. The Bolton upgraded us to a 2 bed apartment for our first stay which was great.

Second stay in a one bedroom apartment with two king beds - a great way of keeping things cost-effective for families. Not huge, especially after being spoilt with a 2 bed suite, but well set up and comfortable.

The location is close to Parliament and office buildings on The Terrace. A little further from the more touristy and shopping areas but not too far from Lambton Quay.

Nice staff, especially a lovely waitress at breakfast one day in the restaurant. Helpful with getting the car out of the car park (a little expensive for valet parking but cheaper than the public car park next door in fact. At the weekend you should be able to park on the street but would def recommend valet parking during the week).

Definitely the nicest place we've stayed in in Wellington so far, will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated. In regard to families, we also offer interlinking studio rooms which are very suitable for families.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $136 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing