We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent two nights here in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 9th floor. Bedrooms were a good size, one with an ensuite and the other with a smaller bathroom next to it. Lounge and kitchen area quite small but was perfect for our needs. Lounge chairs and lounge not that comfortable when sitting on them for a long period of time after a full day out walking around Wellington. Bathroom facilities fantastic, the kitchen had a fridge, dishwasher, oven and hotplates and enough cutlery and crockery. There wasn't a lot of information in the room about where to go to buy supplies ie bread, milk etc and we wanted to utilise the kitchen facilities for breakfast. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment but did have room service the first night and the meal was great but pricey (as room service meals are). Very quiet location but still an easy walk to Lambton Quay and we walked to Te Papa Museum from there as well (it is a long walk though). Reception and conceirge staff fantastic, as were the cleaners. Bed was comfortable and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackjenmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    421
    126
    32
    8
See reviews for
205
689
67
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel, good size rooms and great service. Very central to everything and it is good having the kitchen although some rooms have bigger kitchens than others. Staff are really helpful and the rooms have everything you need

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest_06_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in a Queen Premier Twin Room. Room was very clean with small kitchenette which had everything you needed.
Great location as it is away from the traffic but still close to everything
Breakfast was the only meal we had at the Hotel and it was expensive so unless it is included in your room rate don't bother.
I would stay at the Bolton again.

Room Tip: Room we had was on the western side of the building and in the afternoon we were unable to see the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Why we chose the Bolton:
I always stay in the Bolton when visiting Wellington. It is small, discreet and quiet and close to the CBD. The rooms are clean and neat, beds comfortable and the service is impeccable.
What was included: We chose the Autumn Affair package. It includes a buffet breakfast at the in-house restaurant, Artisan. It also included a welcoming platter which was a little small and not that impressive. We received a complimentary upgrade to a larger room which overlooked the historic cemetary next door.
What I particularly liked: The Bolton organised a taxi to pick us up at the airport. It was a Corporate cab (very nice) at a better rate than we would get it we hired a taxi casually.
What I was disappointed in: The rooms are starting to need a tidy up. The shower door would not close properly which made the bathroom door wet. Some of the tiles are starting to need re-grouted.
Will I stay again: Yes. I like the facilities, location and the extras which are available. There is also a lap pool and gym.

Room Tip: We had a corner room overlooking the park cemetary. It was quiet and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyslightlymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I have noted your comment on the shower door, these can be adjusted to ensure they close, however it is not possible to make these 100% waterproof.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great apartment-hotel - perfect for travelling with children as it has self-catering facilities like a microwave, fridge, dishwasher etc. The Bolton upgraded us to a 2 bed apartment for our first stay which was great.

Second stay in a one bedroom apartment with two king beds - a great way of keeping things cost-effective for families. Not huge, especially after being spoilt with a 2 bed suite, but well set up and comfortable.

The location is close to Parliament and office buildings on The Terrace. A little further from the more touristy and shopping areas but not too far from Lambton Quay.

Nice staff, especially a lovely waitress at breakfast one day in the restaurant. Helpful with getting the car out of the car park (a little expensive for valet parking but cheaper than the public car park next door in fact. At the weekend you should be able to park on the street but would def recommend valet parking during the week).

Definitely the nicest place we've stayed in in Wellington so far, will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated. In regard to families, we also offer interlinking studio rooms which are very suitable for families.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in 2/bed, 2 bath Premiere room. There were 3 of us travelling. Unit had full kitchen & washer/dryer which came w/ detergent. This stay was in middle of our trip which was great, allowing us to do laundry. The baths were generous in size, beds comfy. Great location.C lean, convenient to Parliament, ferry, downtown restaurants & shopping. Right next to Wellington Botanical Gardens which is attraction NOT to miss . .None of views from hotel are fab due to its position however we looked onto cemetery & gardens. Higher up to avoid street noise. We did use hotel restaurant for lunch. It was good but expensive-$60.00/ for 2 salads. There is barista in lobby for "take away" coffee & tea, snacks if you opt not to sit down for formal breakfast.We were there during 4 day Easter holiday. There was minimal staff on at hotel which did not interfere w/ services offered to us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syracuse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very nice Hotel. I have stayed several times before, and do like it. the rooms are nice, always very clean. Service is very good, but personally I do not like the style of the restaurant, just a bit too cafe like for the price and the food is good, not great.
Breakfasts are very good, if a little dear, but normal hotel prices I suppose.
It is my favourite hotel in Wellington and I do recommend.

Our recent stay had a TV that needed some attention... NOt sure why, but all good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. We recently experienced some issues with our TV system and to address this we replaced our SKY TV server.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing