We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a safe bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Picton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always a safe bet”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

If you want clean corporate type 5 star accommodation then you can't go wrong with the Bolton. Professional staff, efficient check in and modern clean rooms. Free wifi and gym are great too. The breakfast buffet is pretty good too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSoundsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular thank you for your comments on our breakfast.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
203
684
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst visiting family in Wellington on our first visit to NZ. From check in to check out the hotel was one of the best we've stayed in. Reading the hotel booklet it says their staff are their best asset and I have to agree. From the front desk to the concierge they could not have been better to us. The concierge did everything possible to assist us, from helping us load into and out of our car, to passing on messages, to scanning and emailing docs for us. One example highlighting their service level was when I had a missed phone call in our room from my brother - approx 2 min later we had a typed phone message delivered to our room on the 13th floor. The rooms are fantastic as well, being spacious and very modern. We had a suite which was perfect for our 7 day stay with kids, with kitchen, laundry etc. The only small negative I could have is that the location is not quite as close to the harbour and downtown as I had hoped - it's right in the middle of the business district which is great for business visitors, but we were holidaying with kids so couldn't quite walk around as much as I thought. The car did all this for us anyway (hired from Apex car rentals which is heaps cheaper than the main ones).

Overall though we loved the hotel and Wellington too - there was plenty to do to fill our 7 days. From the museum Te Papa to the wildlife reserve Staglands at Upper Hutt which was phenomenal. We'll be back!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Inverellboy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I appreciated you comments on our staff and service.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary for the weekend after our booking at a holiday home fell through...and I was glad it did!

We booked a studio suite and were upgraded to a one bedroom suite at check in which was a great start to the weekend. The fellow that checked us in appeared to be new as he was a wee bit nervous but he had everything prepared and offered some great advice on what to so and do whilst in Wellington. Check in went very smoothly.

Our room was spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and a huge bathroom which featured a bath and double shower. Loved the fluffy bathrobes! Comfy lounge suite and a heavenly bed!! Fully stocked mini bar that, as expected, was overpriced but had all the essential luxuries should you need them. Room service was prompt but the breakfast was disappointing for the amount we paid.

We made use of the hotel pool and spa as well. It's more of a lap pool but they do have a selection of water toys that kids can enjoy in the shallow end. The spa is hot but not all the jets were working which wasn't great. However, with the pool open until 10pm (and they're pretty flexible with that time too), it was a nice way to wind down at the end of the day.

The location was fantastic, very central and a 5min walk to the centre of Lambton Quay..ask a local where the shortcut is! The staff were fantastic and the front desk is manned 24 hours. After a night out in town on Saturday night, we arrived back in the early hours of Sunday morning, asked about a late check out and it was changed to 12pm for free. That extra hour really made a difference!

Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank your for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel numerous times now for work trips, as you can always be sure of good service. A handy walk to Parliament and close to the train station. Rooms are a good size, everything you need in the room, very clean, comfortable bed. Breakfast had a good variety, although replenishment of food was a little slow. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Bolton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. You comment regarding the breakfast service will be passed onto our breakfast team.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was one of the best apartment hotel we stayed in while in Wellington.Modern,spacious,clean, good service and great great location in the center of the city.do not have hesitation to recommned it to our friends & trio advisor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a great hotel to staying in if you're going to Wellington. It ticked all the 5 star boxes and more, from us arriving and having the car valet store the car in the new stacker car park built into the hotel, to the superb spa that is included as part of your normal room booking. We stayed in a suite, which is worth the extra money as it has 3 large rooms, including a state of the art bathroom, washer, dryer, dishwasher, cooker and microwave. There's a flat screen TV in both rooms and the views from the hotel are excellent. We used the spa (which includes a heated pool, good sized gym, sauna and jacuzzi). Towels, robes, water and slippers are also provided. The staff at the Bolton know how to deliver 5-star service. Nothing was too much trouble. We ordered room service, which came within 20 mins and was delicious and they can access your car within about 30 seconds by entering your cars code into a pad in the hotel foyer. The car then appears and is put into a covered area for you to use before it gets stored again. Really impressive hotel, in a great area (at side of the botanical garden). Highly recommended if you're looking for 5-star and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowe103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated. All Trip Advisor reviews and other comments are discussed by our management team and it will be a pleasure to see the smiles of satisfaction for a job well done when your review is dicussed.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

5-20mins walk from anywhere you want to be in Wellington CBD. upgraded on arrival. great food in restaurant. free newspaper - thought that had long since stopped ! knowledgeable concierge and front of house staff. very well equipped rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I was particularly pleased to note your comments on our restaurant, front desk and concierge staff.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing