We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and had a really nice stay. The room was pretty comfortable and the hotel staff were quite friendly. The 'kiwi' blanket on the end of the bed was a nice touch too. It's in a good spot in that it's only a short walk to everything and is very quiet. On a particularly positive note, my wife left two dresses in the room and when I called up back in Australia they were able to send them over to us without any hassle at all. Big thanks for that one!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

858 - 864 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Bolton Street Hotel for New Year's Eve on recommendation. We had a two bedroom suite on the 12th floor as we were two couples so it made sense for us to share. The suite was good and the fridge in our lounge was well stocked. The hotel was adequate for our needs for one night. We ate at Shed 5 on Queen's Wharf which was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated. I was pleased you enjoyed one of our two bedroom suites, these are ideal for couples sharing and families. We also offer interconnecting rooms and some one bedroom apartments with 2 x queen beds.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this hotel on our New Zealand trip this year. To me this is a "dark" place in a back side road with no charme. Rooms are good but definetly not 5 star. Service was so so. It was an experience where you expect 5 star and get the feeling you ended up in a normal business hotel where you are happy you dont have stay longer. I guess business people would be happy with it .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments. While I agree the Bolton Hotel is not situated on a main street, it is however very centrally located at the northern end of the CBD, less than 100 metres from Wellington's Golden Mile of shopping. The hotel offers a quiet location, natural light on all sides, with views to the botanical gardens on the western side.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed twice over the past month as wanted full self contained apartments while in Wellington. I felt the service was average, nothing specifically wrong with it, just expect more from a hotel that advertises rated as 5 star. For 5 star accommodation I expect AMAZING service.
Our first stay was in a 1 bedroom apartment and have huge bedroom and bathroom with good size kitchen/lounge area. For our second stay i thought we would pay the extra for a premier 1 bedroom and was disappointed compared to our previous room. Bedroom was small with wardrobe unusable to store suitcase and bathroom standard hotel size which was surprising given the huge bathroom previously. Kitchen items great with laundry facilities for both rooms. Cannot really fault anything in particular except just isnt 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated. We are currently planning some refurbishment to our premier one bedroom suites and I have taken note of your comments.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The rooms are suites with great views of the city. All the comforts of home. The front desk and concierge are very helpful.

We had lunch in the restaurant, Artisan, and there was only one person serving so service was slow. We ordered two glasses of wine which were supposed to be 150ml pours but were 75ml at best. We asked the server to bring a 150ml measure and she refused. Not very good. Needless to say we didn't order a second glass.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated. In regard to the comment regarding the wine pour all our wine glasses have brand markings set to identify a 150 ml measure. Our F&B Manager will be addressing this and the comment in respect of service.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed a night, friendly staff at reception, rooms lovely and clean, very quiet despite being close to a motorway a block away.
Location handy to the north end of the CBD. We will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had to come to Wellington at very short notice due to a death in the family. We made the booking just a day before leaving. We booked a double room because we have two small children (4 & 2). They arranged a cot to be in the room and we checked in 2 hours early - the staff have ALL been incredibly helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much to ask for. Everyone from the reception/concierge to the housekeepers - just lovely! Our suite was just perfect for us. Two generous sized rooms and two full bathrooms + a full kitchen, dining and lounge with a washer dryer. Beds were very comfortable. The only thing I can say that wasn't good was the air con - a bit fidley to get right and the TVs in the bedrooms didn't seem to have all the channels - pretty picky really. Lol. The Artisan restaurant served the most delisious food - just superb (mouth's watering just thinking of how good it was!) and they catered happily off the menus for the children. We would definitely come back and stays at that Bolton Hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank JodeeHandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I was particularly pleased to note your comments on our staff, who are unquestionably our best asset.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing