We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good private hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

When we can get a good rate we are booked into this hotel. The location is perfect for public servants and the staff and hotel are tops class. Most of are spacious and always very clean. It would be nice if they updated their entertainment system. More often than not the picture quality is bad and the choice limited. The restaurant is top class, the staff discreet and friendly. Only downside is you might see some politicians.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonoclarkhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review, your comments were much appreciated. We commenced a programme of installing iphone, ipad doc station entertainment systems, however we placed this on hold following the new charging plug introduced with the iphone 5. We are currently in the process of deciding the next step. I very much appreciated your comments on our staff and restaurant.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is located very close to the Parliament buildings and Lambton Quay. It's not right in the centre of town, but its a short walk away.

The hotel lobby is very small and not impressive at all. I was offered a cheap upgrade to a suite, which also features a kitchenette, and also a very good value breakfast option, which needs to be pre-ordered to get it cheap. The room was adequately sized, though the bedroom was quite small. There was no in-room safe either. The bathroom was nice. Most importantly the internet was fast and free.

Overall the hotel is good value and the service is good, but doesn't go the extra mile. The hotel isn't grand and I'd say it was more 4 star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated.
The Bolton Hotel provides undercover drop off and drive through vehicle access and this is a plus with Wellington’s weather. The lobby while I agree is on the small side it nevertheless offers good space and excellent access to the front desk and concierge desk. The lobby also contains a separate double height lounge/cafe area which flows up to the next level via an internal feature circular staircase.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

First off I must commend the hotel on offering free wifi, it's the first one on our trip to offer free unlimited use.... Like the rest of the world.

The breakfast was fantastic and a bargin to boot on a special offer wen we arrived and the valet parking was quik, and easy and cheaper,than on street.
Great room, quite large and room to unfold 2 large suitcases flat on the floor.
The hotel had a small pool and gym but it was good enough on a short stay.

Very centrally located for vists to the botanical Gardens, Beehive and shopping district.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is good and the staff were helpful. It has a good location as the beehive, parliament and other government offices are nearby. I got the studio room but it was very small (around 26 sq.m.). If your purpose is business, it could serve your needs. However, if you are going for a holiday, try to consider other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated.
While the Bolton offers studio rooms, the hotel is predominately a one bedroom apartment hotel, together with a small selection of two bedroom apartments.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Restaurant was amazing, food was very very good. both dinner and the breakfast. Nice and quite rooms and the one bedroom suites were lovely. Not much of a view I thought after upgrading an extra $100 per night. View of a park and motorway, would much preferred a city harbour view but all in all great service and a very nice hotel

Room Tip: Only a few moments away from downtown Wellington and a nice walk,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. In particular thank you for your favourable comments on our restaurant.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Bolton on 3 separate occasions over a period of over a couple of years. This is my hotel of choice whenever I am in Wellington with my family of 4. I have stayed in several other hotels in Wellington but this is my top choice. The hotel is modern, clean and very well located. Close to the CBD, Queen's Wharf, Oriental Bay and the many other attractions (the Beehive, Te Papa museum, Old St Paul's Church, the cable car). Service is impeccable with staff ever willing to help with directions, restaurant reservations. We never ate at the hotel given the wide ranging and high quality culinary scene in Wellington so I can't comment on the F&B facilities at the Bolton. The rooms we stayed in came with a full sized fridge, a washing machine/dryer (for small capacity laundry), a half sized dishwasher in a small but functional kitchen area. 5 out of 5!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank RVilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review, your comments were very much appreciated. In particular I appreciated your comments on our service standards and staff.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Bolton is basically everything most frequent travellers would expect & it may excite those who travel less. Nice but a little 'Groundhog day'! Basically the winning formula of white linen, large bed, modern bathroom, staff in blazers and windows that don't open. A point of difference would be great. The staff were very good and parking is a dream. Its is also an easy stroll to the stadium which is ideal!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieLeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,714 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,938 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing