We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bolton 5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A really. wonderful hotel, fantastic staff. Very nice 2 bedroom suite, with heaps of amenities. Good view, very clean and tidy.
The best hotel stay I have had for a while. I'll happily stay again
Excellent facilities and amenities
Great Location.
We parked on the road overnight, no worries.

Room Tip: Above 14th floor 2 bedrm suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was particularly pleased with your comment on our staff, unquestionably our best asset.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice room, clean, tv above the bed. Shops are only a block away. The food was nice however I would've expected better tasting from a high end place like this. They also brought up aioli instead of sour cream, and forgot 1 of our orders altogether. Room service costs $5 every order to bring up. Parking at the hotel is $30/day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I will address the comments regarding room service delivery.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just completed my first trip to Wellington. Wonderful location, great value, fabulous room and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Wellington. I even saw a Hobbit

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was particularly pleased with your comments about our staff, who are unquestionably our best asset.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent just one night at the Bolton Hotel but found the accommodations to be very nice. The Bolton was located off a quiet side street not far from some of the government buildings. It was a short walk to the waterfront and convenient to shopping and restaurants.

We found our room to be as booked which was a double queen room which had a nice studio kitchen and separate sitting area. The room was very clean and quiet with a nice view of the botanical garden area.

I believe that the Bolton was one of the best values, for the type of accommodation offered, that we experienced on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadking62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, your favourable comments were much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the Bolton for two nights on business and thought it was great - would stay again. My room was very modern and the kitchen-ette was great. I ate at the restaurant both nights and found the food to be very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. High recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, your favourable comments were much appreciated. I was pleased you enjoyed our restaurant.
Warwick Angus Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

More of our 'big city' Hotels should be providing free wifi as the Bolton now does...good on them! Great place. Enjoyed our stay 5 years ago and just as nice now. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (perhaps a little more training needed on the restaurant side - but hey, they're young and learning!). The standard studio room is on the small side (more for a single person but adequate for a short stay - as a couple would go for the bigger studio room again next time. Lovely clean facilities. Just far enough away from the main city thoroughfare to be quietish, but close enough to walk to places. Good choices of wine with dinner also, thank you.

Room Tip: Guest studio rooms are small. Go for the bigger rooms. The corner rooms (Premier Studio's) are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated. I agree our small studio rooms while very comfortable are best suited for a short term stays. I was pleased you enjoyed our free Internet, we are a leading hotel in this respect and have offered this service free for more than 2 years.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is well located -- just minutes walk from everything. The staff were personable and service oriented. I especially liked the mini-suite with kitchen facilities AND a washer dryer, which saved me a ton of money. The internet connexion was fast and reliable. They are relaunching their restaurant and had vouchers available for half off the breakfast buffet and also a dinner voucher for $30, which included a main course and a glass of house wine (essentially a $50+ value). The food was great -- try the venison filet. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rover1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

I was delighted to read your comments, our team work very hard to meet the needs of our guests and it nice to see their efforts appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing