We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but should try harder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room booked was a classic twin suite and it was spacious and airy. Two large windows looking over a park. Nice in the middle of the city. The suite came with a full kitchen and laundry facilities which when you are on a touring holiday works out a great asset. The usual toiletries were displayed in the bathroom and well displayed a nice touch.
We valet parked the car, and on the second day in the afternoon we were going to visit some relatives. So we called down to get the car. On arrival in the reception the valet handed me the keys of the car. One problem they were not for my car. They had the ticket on it for my room. After a little bit of a panic they found my keys. Pew!!! Don’t know how I would have told the hire company.
The second night was different the housekeeping staff cleaned up but did not hoover the carpets as some accidently spilled chips were still there after two days of cleaning. On day two a Sunday we were just getting ready to leave the room when a knock came to the door it was the housekeeper. “She abruptly said do you want service?” not quite what I was expecting. But it was her Sunday and I must have been a hindrance to her by being in my room at 10:30 in the morning. I requested we have ten minutes. When we left the room they were standing waiting on us to depart. Not very customer friendly I must say. Also the replenishment of the toiletries were not the same they replaced the creams with Soap.
Over all the price wasn’t bad but they could step it up a gear after all they are the ambassadors of their capital city. I also did a review for the Artisan restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: Studio appartments good value, washer dryer good for travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated. In respect of the wrong car, we have identified and addressed what we think was the cause of this error. I have also taken up your comments in respect of housekeeping. While not excusing the matters you raise, I would like to add that we take great pride in our excellent, friendly and very hard working housekeeping team and it is most unusual for us to receive negative housekeeping comments.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for 2 nights and could not fault the hotel or staff. We were travelling with three small children and staff were all very welcoming and accommodating. Concierge staff were all very helpful, the woman working in the cafe was especially lovely with the kids. The suite had everything we needed and lovely views of memorial gardens. The location was great, easy walk with the kids and a pram down to the water and along to Te Papa. Kids enjoyed swim in pool. Can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassafras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. It is nice to have family, particularly young children in the hotel and I was very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our two bedroom suites are ideal for families. We also offer a small number of twin key suites.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

A friend and I stayed just one night in a 1 brm apartment recently and couldnt fault this hotel. Even before we arrived I was made to feel special and received emails from the hotel offering tour suggestions/dinner suggestions. I felt the staff had been trained to onsell extra products but it was done in a non threatening way so was appreciated. Checkin was friendly and flawless. Everything that the staff said they would do was done promptly and professionally. The only minor negative is that the hotel is not close to Courtenay Place where theres a bit of a buzz but it was very close to parliament and the train station. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I agree, Courtenay Place is situated at the southern end of the city CBD and a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel, or a short taxi ride. The Bolton Hotel is situated at the northern Parliament and Government end of the CBD and one street from the Lambton Quay golden mile shopping precinct.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just the one night spent here before we went across to the south island on a walking tour, but was an excellent choice. The hotel is very well maintained, room was spacious and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly in arranging taxis and luggage storage etc. Didn't eat in at all so can't comment on the restaurant. Overall we couldn't fault it for location, service or accommodation standard.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I took our daughter to the Wearable Arts last Friday, and wanted somewhere special to stay. The Bolton certainly delivered, and exceeded my expectations in every way. The staff are young, charming and no request was too much trouble. We paid for parking, but were surprised that we were allowed to leave the car for a few extra hours after we had checked out.
We booked a one bedroom suite which was on the 16th floor with great views. Everything was clean, impeccably presented, and well thought out. The bed linen was crisp and white, with a pillow menu and TV in bedroom and lounge. Our only regret was that we didn't spend enough time enjoying all the facilities on offer! There is a cafe/coffee area in reception plus a restaurant on the mezzazine level. We were able to walk everywhere in the central city, and certainly enjoyed the Bolton boutique experience.

Room Tip: We were in 1605 which was quiet, with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for3 nights for a business function had a lovely one bed room appartment with a large bathroom and separate shower and lovely deep bath .I was impressed with the kitchenette area with cooktop one drawer dishwasher, washing machine and airing rack abd mid sized fridge.there was a lovely lounge area with a tv and another tv in the bedroom.
The hotel was situated at the end of the botanical gardens city walk and close to shops and the quay area.
I had a lovely stay here theonly complaint was the pillows they were very heavy andhard .They did have a choice of diiferent piilows you could request from reception , but this depended on avaiability.I did request others but no much better.interestingly other in my party also commented on the pillows.

They sell lovely kiwi toys at reception tip if you like them buy them as they are not availableat theairport!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelnmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I will follow up and discuss the availability of different pillow types with our housekeeper.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Booked a romantic weekend package and were delighted with the room and the breakfasts. We also had a nice dinner in the restaurant. We felt the restaurant should be named to reflect the New Zealand bach ambience, which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonAbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing