We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY nice hotel”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

best hotel we stayed at in all of new zealand! better than any hotel we paid 400+ for a night! everything was just PERFECT i wish i could live at this place. the location was perfect too! the rooms are ultra modern and a ton of light. breakfast was a bit steep but very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattTravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
203
684
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hats off to the amazing staff of this Gem in Wellington. I would like to say a huge thank you to the Managing Director Mr Angus and all the staff for going out of their way to look after my elderly mother who arrived to stay a night in the big smoke en route to Australia. You went way and above beyond what was expected.

From pick up at the Ferry Terminal one day (with an illuminated sign board which she could actually see with her ailing eyesight) to drop off at the airport the next day, all the staff involved made my mother's stay so memorable she burst into tears recounting your collective kindness and helpfulness to her.

My mum tried to memorise all your names so she could personally thank you all, so please forgive us if we don't get your names right . Thanks so much to the amazing reservations Manager Leon who took the initial booking, reservations staff Kylie and Abby, chauffeurs and guide Dimitri and Frank, and Concierge Ingmar, the dining room staff (and your red dining plates) and the breakfast staff.

My mum is no stranger to 5-start accommodation but was blown away by the cleanliness of the Hotel and the warmth not only of the rooms but of the staff and the Wellingtonians she encountered. She was also particularly tickled by the very fabulous kiwi bed runners on her very comfortable bed , and went to visit the "Beehive" which is just down the road from the Hotel and thoroughly recommends this to Wellington Visitors.

Staff care of and concern for my mother and their combined exemplary service went beyond 5-star. Thank you all so much, and you can be sure that we will be recommending the Bolton wherever we go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at the Bolton. It was a very short walk from the KiwiRail (about 4 blocks) - which was convenient for us.

When we received our room keys, we were surprised to hear that a room was numbered "1306a". As we arrived at the door to the room, we were even more surprised that it shared a doorway with 1306.

The door opened, and as I suspected, the room had to have been a converted closet or perhaps one larger room was split into 2 (hence, the common doorway). By the time we rolled our luggage into the room, we were having to use the bed to climb around the room. There was no walking space around the bed whatsoever.

The breakfast buffet was ok; however, it was the only hotel in our 3 week stay in NZ/Australia that did not offer anything specifically labeled gluten free (toast, pancakes, cereal, etc.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallchick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've spent over 100 nights at this hotel and I love the place. I do agree that whether it should be 5 star is debatable, but whatever the rating I find it hard to fault the place.
The rooms are all clean and the ones at the back have nice views over the hill. The rooms are more like a serviced apartment rather than a hotel, especially the one/two bedrooms which also have kitchen areas and washing machines.
The gym is very small but suits me, and the pool area also has a spa and sauna.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
In all my time there I've never used the restaurant so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jono88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a great place to stay, customer service & hospitality was faultless which always make you want to return and the rooms were clean & tidy. Close to the CBD & parliment and its only a 20 minute walk to Te Papa. The rooms are quiet as well which is always a bonus. Complimentry wi-fi is good. Definately would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were utterly delighted with our 4 night stay at the Bolton Hotel in late August 2012. My wife and two children accompanied me to see windy Wellington which certainly lived up to its name.
The Hotel which is slightly elevated above the CBD is in easy walking distance of any office appointment, eatery or the harbour. From a friendly check in, complimentary use of 2 x netbooks with free wi-fi, engaging and helpful staff throughout especially the Front Desk Manager, Concierge and Driver. There was plenty of things to do and we were well directed on how to get there.The evening meal was truly tasty and local. The corner 2 bedroom suite was amongst the best furnished and appointed we had stayed in, anywhere in the world. I just wished that more hotels had their act together as well as this Hotel.We returned to the airport in the Hotels chauffeur driven BMW with more panache than we would ever have expected.

Room Tip: I would always choose the Corner suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was surprised at the claim that the Bolton was a five star hotel. It was comfortable and probably a good three star, but definitely not five star. The foyer was rather small. The breakfast room was OK and I did not find the bar! Rooms were large and warm (important in Wellington's climate). The position was slightly off the beaten track, but close to Parliament and the rugby stadium. The walk into CBD was only five minutes, so not a problem.

The gym was small but well equipped. The adjoining pool was surprisingly deep at one end (2.4m) for the length of about 20m. The jacuzzi was large enough but had very few water jets. The sauna had to be turned on 20 minutes before you could go in."

Overall a good business hotel.

Room Tip: "Park View" looks at the motorway, across a very small park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing