We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A world class little hotel... hidden from view.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were utterly delighted with our 4 night stay at the Bolton Hotel in late August 2012. My wife and two children accompanied me to see windy Wellington which certainly lived up to its name.
The Hotel which is slightly elevated above the CBD is in easy walking distance of any office appointment, eatery or the harbour. From a friendly check in, complimentary use of 2 x netbooks with free wi-fi, engaging and helpful staff throughout especially the Front Desk Manager, Concierge and Driver. There was plenty of things to do and we were well directed on how to get there.The evening meal was truly tasty and local. The corner 2 bedroom suite was amongst the best furnished and appointed we had stayed in, anywhere in the world. I just wished that more hotels had their act together as well as this Hotel.We returned to the airport in the Hotels chauffeur driven BMW with more panache than we would ever have expected.

Room Tip: I would always choose the Corner suite for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was surprised at the claim that the Bolton was a five star hotel. It was comfortable and probably a good three star, but definitely not five star. The foyer was rather small. The breakfast room was OK and I did not find the bar! Rooms were large and warm (important in Wellington's climate). The position was slightly off the beaten track, but close to Parliament and the rugby stadium. The walk into CBD was only five minutes, so not a problem.

The gym was small but well equipped. The adjoining pool was surprisingly deep at one end (2.4m) for the length of about 20m. The jacuzzi was large enough but had very few water jets. The sauna had to be turned on 20 minutes before you could go in."

Overall a good business hotel.

Room Tip: "Park View" looks at the motorway, across a very small park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for an extended weekend break and opted for a suite. Ended up on the 14th floor overlooking the Memorial Park and the motorway which also gave a nice view of the hills. Surprisingly quiet room, clean, good amenities and a comfortable bed. Not flash in terms of furnishing so don't expect anything funky.

The staff wee consistently excellent - helpful, polite, cheerful and knowledgable. The location wasn't a big issue for us as we were happy to walk everywhere and the reality is most of downtown Wellington is within a 10-15 min walk.

Needless to say Wellington was at times wet and windy but it was a relaxing weekend. Worthwhile shopping at Bivouac and other outdoor stores for Icebreaker gear at very good prices. Also the Last Footwear Company shop in Cuba St for a great range of shoes and great service.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Bolton is positioned on the edge of the City in the CBD, handy for the train/bus station and a short walk from Parliament.

However it is the opposite end of the city from the main shopping area and Courtenay Place, where you find most of the theatres, cinemas, night clubs and restaurants. So a short bus/taxi ride is required, or if your up for it a brisk 15/20 min walk.

Although we live not to far from Welly up on the Kapiti coast we decided to treat ourselves to a weekend in Welly and make the most of the winter break offers which were floating about at the time.

The hotel is lovely inside, the rooms are fresh,clean and modern, beds are really comfy and a generous size ( very important when Hubby is 6ft 6). Staff are very helpful and polite.
The coffee shop downstairs is very popular with local office staff in the area, so if your there on a weekday it can be VERY busy, but don't let that put you off they do very good coffee an you must try one of the macrons. The restaurant is small but adequate and the staff very attentive. Breakfast service was brilliant, however we did lunch there on the saturday an service was VERY slow for which we could see no excuse as there were only 3 couples in there at the time.

The biggest disappoint for us was they had shut the pool and spa for maintenance - yet there was no mention of this on the website when we looked to book . There are few hotels which offer pool/spa in Welly but the Bolton is one, so we specifically booked the Hotel for this reason, so to arrive an find they were both a no go area was HUGELY disappointing.

Please -- if you offer such facilities they should be available at all times, or at least place a pre warning on your website. We could easily of gone another weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear/side of the hotel overlooking the cemetery -- quite neighbours are always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyhoundJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I apologise for our pool area being closed for maintenance. I am not sure what happened here. We normally notify our guests before arrival of such circumstances and we have slipped up, I will be taking this up at our management team.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I visited Wellington for business and added a couple of days at the end of our stay. For the begining of our stay we booked the Intercontinental and decided to try the Bolton for our vacation days. While we were underwhelmed by everything that the Intercontinental had to offer, we were quite surprised by how good the Bolton was. Unfortunately my husband got quite sick during our stay and we had to extend our stay as he was unable to travel home as scheduled, the front desk staff, the concierge, the room cleaning staff were all friendly and accomodating. They put up with our numerous requests, helped us schedule doctor appointments, arranged for transport, they were absolutely amazing. Having a room with a kitchen was perfect, and could have not worked out better since we were not able to go out for meals etc. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to "downtown" and restaurants, shops, etc. It's also quite close to a supermarket. Internet access was good and included in the room rate. While there is not a business center in the hotel, they do allow use of their computer in the lobby for printing of documents. On our next visit to Wellington, I would not consider staying anywhere else and neither should you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolitatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I was particularly pleased and delighted to read how well our staff had attended to your needs.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lying here on the third of our three night stay at the Bolton Hotel browsing the previous reviews I couldnt help but ask my husband if there were perhaps two Bolton Hotels in Wellington. Quick address check ...no, there is only one ...and we're in it.

The positives. Its a convenient location - although a long walking distance (in Wellingtons wind) to the real touristy hub bub part of town. It was great for the rugby on Saturday night. It's quiet'ish, warm, clean and comfortable.

The negatives. I dont have any. Just confusion. It's comfortable but its by no means five star. We have a one bedroom apartment style - first tier of room that comes with a bath. We are on the 13th floor and our view is of office desks in the surrounding office blocks. The lounge furnishings are those stiff, green velour couches you recall from your dentist visits as a kid. The restaurant / bar is nice (conservatory style cane furniture with little ambience) and the staff are friendly. The Duty Manager who appears to have been on shift since our arrival could help things along with a more warm, welcoming, smiling demeanour ....as he appears to take centre stage at the front desk.

Overall, a warm, comfortable but forgettable stay. For what we've paid ($333 per night) ...I was expecting the boutique hotel experience the website promises.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a superbly located hotel in Wellington. Well appointed and comfortable rooms, good food and great service. The coffee shop downstairs is a favourite spot for business meetings. Sometimes it is understaffed, but well worth the wait.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukiHarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $141 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing