We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable digs close to the CBD”
Review of Stay at St Pauls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay at St Pauls
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Apartment was compact, a little quirky, and quite comfortable, however a rollout bed for a fourth person in a two-and- a-half-bedroom apartment is a bit ordinary - especially when there is ample room for a set of bunks or even a proper single bed. Also, the washing machine/dryer was H-O-P-E-L-E-S-S - it took around 3 hours to part-dry around 6 pieces of clothing and we ended up packing wet clothes in our luggage to dry at the next destination. It would be far better to have a separate proper clothes dryer and it would probably be cheaper to run. Proximity to the city is good though.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Stay at St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've stayed on a number of occasions. In this instance I booked on a Friday for a late notice overnight appointment on the Monday of the next week. We then identified some previously unnoticed Wellington earthquake damage on the morning of the day I was supposed to stay which had to be fixed (we're rural and had no household water at all due to damage to a well pump). E-Mailed the Apartments at 9:00 am on the morning to cancel. Assumed all was OK - received an acknowledgement from them. Some time later get an e-mail saying I was in breach of their cancellation policy and they would bill me regardless which they did. Suffice to say if you want an ability to be agile when travel arrangements change I wouldn't recommend you stay here. I won't be again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank charles_lott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom R, Owner at Stay at St Pauls, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

We are aware that paying a cancellation fee is not pleasant but it is clearly stated in the booking confirmation and the web site. It is common practice for hotels, holidays and airlines. It is advisable to take out travel insurance so that in the event of a cancellation you can claim it at the insurance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good Location.

We stayed in Apartment 68 which was a good size, Room needed some mantanience but overall it was good.

Note, these aren't serviced on the weekend or public holidays. They are very basic but the size of the room was good value for wellington.

Would stay in Apartment 68 again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nakib87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed in these apartments for 2 nights over a weekend.
We found them to be very basic, bedrooms were very small and had tiny window in the corner, It was like sleeping in a jail cell, dark and dingy. The bathroom was also very small and dark, toilet almost in the shower. The main living area looked into office apartments next door, thank god it was a weekend otherwise we would be sharing our apartment with hundreds of others. These apartments are well away from main part of town and have no views at all. The kitchen is also very basic and could do with a good clean. We never saw any staff the whole time we were there and to top it off we got charged for the apartment twice and when they reversed it we had to pay $25 on our card due to the exchange rate. Car parking costs $25 / day !!!
We would not recommend these apartments to anyone staying in Wellington, it is like being in jail.

Room Tip: Rooms very small don't stay there.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We loved our week long stay at the Quest St Paul's apartments!!! The location is great - only a couple minutes walk to an amazing grocery store and great access to downtown Wellington!!!! We loved not being right in the hustle and bustle of downtown but close enough to walk to wherever we wanted to go. There are several fantastic restaurants within walking distance to the hotel and cafe's galore!!! The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Kitchen has just about everything you would need. Loved having the convenience of a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this facility to ANYONE!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellingtonCaniwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My wife and I arrived here from the South Island and found this little hidden gem tucked away in the centre of the banking district. It was an extremely peaceful place to stay especially at the weekend as there was no one around. The appartment was very clean and fully equipped with all mod cons. The centre of Wellington was only a 10 minute walk away, but buses were easily available as well. Very close to the Parliament buildings and a convenient supermarket as this is a self catered apartment complex. The dishwasher was a very pleasant extra luxury.

Stayed: November 2006
4  Thank djlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.5 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#7 of 52 in Wellington
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers
#13 of 52 in Wellington
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#3 of 52 in Wellington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay at St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay at St Pauls

Address: 37 Pipitea Street, Wellington, New Zealand (Formerly Quest at St Pauls)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $76 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stay at St Pauls 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Welcome to Stay at St Pauls. Located at the Government end of town Stay at St Pauls is conveniently situated opposite Old St Pauls Church and only minutes walk from the golden mile of Lambton Quay, Beehive and Parliament Buildings, the Westpac Trust Stadium and Railway / Bus Stations. Ideal for business, leisure, and families we offer a range of 19 one & two bedroom apartments within the St Pauls Complex. Whether you choose to use the full kitchen facilities in your apartment or dine out in one of the restaurants located close by Stay at St Pauls will be your home away from home. Or why not relax and let someone else do the cooking for you with Café St Paul offering a full cooked breakfast which can be delivered right to your door (avail Monday to Friday). Free wireless internet. (conditions apply) We have recently upgraded the TV's and installed SKY 50+ and all apartments have had new carpet layed. We offer on-site car parking at extra cost (must be pre-booked) and a quiet location with a supermarket located across the road. Long and short stay rates are available and all apartments have full laundry facilities. Stay at St Pauls is ideal for people that require a home feeling during extended business travel or want to enjoy a short stay and discover Wellington. We look forward to welcoming you at Stay at St Pauls! Your host Stay at St Paul's is independently owned and operated. In many cases we'll be the person who checks you in or recommends the best places to eat around town. We take great pride in offering you a personalised service, quality accommodation and making sure you have everything you need for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stay at St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing