We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm.....Relaxed Dining........Excellent Value For Money......”
Review of The Ramen Shop

The Ramen Shop
Ranked #296 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Japanese, New Zealand
Description: The Ramen Shop is a collaboration between Tsubasa Takahashi and Asher Boote. Serving ramen with a kiwi twist.
Restaurant details
Description: The Ramen Shop is a collaboration between Tsubasa Takahashi and Asher Boote. Serving ramen with a kiwi twist.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm.....Relaxed Dining........Excellent Value For Money......”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family and I visited The Ramen Shop for lunch recently and could not get over the fact that it was full to the brim with customers. It has a lovely casual,rustic charm and a most welcoming ambience. It was lovely to see a mother and small baby, a couple of business men and a table full of young ladies all enjoying their lunch in this friendly,casual restaurant.....a lovely cross-section of people relaxed and enjoying their food.
The menu is well ballanced,fresh locally sourced produce and NO Monosodium Glutimate,colourings or additives.......just beautifully cooked, tasty dishes that are very affordable. A bowl of delicious Ramen broth for only $12 is not going to break the bank.
The wines and beers have been chosen carefully to compliment the menu and works very well. I haven't been to many places where a family of five adults can be fed so nutritiously for just over $100.........and that includes the drinks!!!
The Ramen Shop is a different dining experience......fun,healthy,relaxed and charming.
For those who have mobility problems, the restaurant is on the level from the street. Although small there is plenty of room for a walking frame or wheelchair. The staff are delightful and only too happy to help with your needs. The restroom is small but very close to the dining area and no huge obstacles in the way.
The wall art is fun and beautifully painted all adding to the rustic charm. The staff are all cheerful,friendly and oozing with gastro experience.
All in all a delicious, well balanced and filling lunch that's not going to "break the bank" with a lovely relaxed, fun atmosphere. I look forward to returning in the future.........well done Boys.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tasty deep flavours”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Delicious authentic tasting ramen in a stylish designer setting. Lots of interesting items on the menu, not just ramen. Look out for these guys doing popup at markets and craft beer bars round town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thom_nzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Laid back feel with reasonable price food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited on a Saturday night.

The food is reasonably priced. I had a pork bun snack which was the highlight of the night. Good texture and sauce.

Improvements can be made to the soup base on 'the bowl' as it was bland with an average taste. The pork was good though.

I really want this place to do well as I love Newtown. Having had different ramen in Hokkaido and other parts of japan i think this place can do much better with a bit more effort.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrF33der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The whole time I was here it was teaming with people, in fact we were lucky to get a table.

The food is reasonably priced at $12 for a bowl of ramen, however the meal took 20 minutes to come which is quite a long time for a casual dining restaurant. The portions are on the smaller side and the flavour is average.

It's a trendy establishment with a laid back feel and a place I would go with a couple of friends to grab something quick to eat (although it wasn't very quick), not a place I would visit specifically to get ramen.

I found the wait staff quite rude - they didn't greet us on entry or say goodbye as we left.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lve2travelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tasty and affordable”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My partner and I dined here tonight and had a very yummy dinner. We arrived at 5pm and by the time we left the place was packed. I am not sure whether you can take away here, however, if you can't I would recommend arriving early as the seats are limited.

I ordered the big bowl which was yummy, however, this was a little bland. My partner had a chilli chicken bowl and this was a lot more tasty. We also shared the pork buns. The pork buns are very different to what you can order in a Chinese restaurant. These buns are packed with pork belly and vegetables.

This place is licensed and according to my partner has a very good craft beer selection.

This place is also very affordable with dishes around the $12 - $14 mark.

If you are walking past here I would recommend you pop in and check it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ramen Shop also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Ramen Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing