We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican in Newtown”
Review of Viva Mexico

Viva Mexico
Ranked #326 of 917 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Mexican in Newtown”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Made a booking as we'd missed out last time due to it's popularity. The food was great. The prawn entree special was a nice refreshing start and our soup and quesadillas were as yum as the Viva Mexico in town. Staff are friendly and attentive and make for a very pleasant experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevenlogiacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
239 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Hola!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a really nice lunch today in the Newtown open air restaurant or you can dine inside the bus or upstairs which is nice and sheltered from the cool breeze. Not good value for money for cheap food . We had exotica tacos- pork with beans rice and slaw and pork enchiladas with pinil mole. The one young lady serving was the waitress and cashier and just could not keep up with the stream of people. There was confusion with where to pay and where to order- same place so no doubt lost business due to potential dine and dashers. Our Mexican coffee didn't arrive so we asked for it to be deducted off the bill. Wouldn't return but at least food was good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Bad experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Won't go back. Mains came before entrees and when asked about the entrees the server didn't even know the dish we ordered was on the menu. Had to point it out to her on the menu even though she supposedly wrote it down when we ordered. Portions were small and over priced. Worst of all, right in the middle of eating the people at the table next to us lit up cigarettes. Felt ill and had to go out on the foot path before I vomited on the table. The space was mostly enclosed and covered. There we no signs or ashtrays telling non-smoking patrons that smoking was allowed. The only non-smoking area was inside an old converted bus which was extremely stuffy and uncomfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food was served on stone cold plates causing it to also go cold within 5 minutes of receiving it. The portions for the mains were really small and the enchiladas, tacos and the exoticos all taste the same - only difference is the way they are folded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little pocket of Mexico hidden in Welly!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This little place has everything - fabulous quirky atmosphere, amazing food, great value and excellent service! We lucked out with a gorgeous winters night, ate our mains in the old double-decker bus and our dessert under the twinkling lights and patio heater outside. Lots of colour, flavour and fun. The enchiladas and churros are a must. The menu was easy to decipher with little diagrams explaining all the dishes, so even if you're not used to eating Mexican, it's really simple to find something you like. They flavour the food authentically, so it's not about overwhelming heat, but subtle layers of flavour true to their heritage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZDuffnetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Mexico also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Viva Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing