We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food, friendly staff!”
Review of Mama Brown

Mama Brown
Ranked #213 of 979 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $3 - $26
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 4, 2014

There is a very casual vibe but that's not a bad thing. I took my parents and partner here and everyone said the food was delicious and we all had a lovely time :) I wish it was byo then I would be here every weekend!

Thank DollyAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 248 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

Mama Brown catered my 3 year old’s birthday party which we held at his pre-school. The management was very accommodating with my menu requests (e.g. I asked for mini scones which hadn’t been on their menu for months and for the chef to cut down the spices on their meatballs etcetera) and I was ecstatic with the result. The 30 school kids, who are by far the pickiest eaters known to man (and come with allergy and dietary restrictions on top of their discerning palates), polished off 11 large platters of meatballs, chicken kebabs, scones, pikelets and brownies in about 2 seconds flat. I had been worried that they wouldn’t eat the food because we weren’t serving them typical party food (e.g. white bread with hundreds and thousands on it), so I think it’s a real testament to the quality of Mama Brown’s food that the kids gobbled up such (relatively) healthy fare. My favourite was the brownies, they were sensational, and the staff said it was the best party food they had ever tasted. In fact, half the staff and parents were muttering about making plans to dine at the restaurant in the near future because they were so impressed with the food. I highly recommend Mama Brown catering because I found them to be professional, flexible, reasonably priced and most importantly, produced excellent food!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rosanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama B, Manager at Mama Brown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Rosanna,

Thank you for the kind words. Kids are a different breed but we love nothing more then to please the Mini Chiefs. The joy on there faces when they like food is worth us making the effort! Glad you enjoyed, hope to serve next year's birthday party now! :)

Sincerely yours,
Mama @ Mama Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent service, fantastic meal - just the right portion size. Coffee was lovely and the biscotti was the best I have ever tasted! The staff really make you feel at home here and nothing is a problem.

Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama B, Manager at Mama Brown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for the kind words, we do make an effort. The staff love it when its appreciated and noticed. Its team work at Mama Brown. The biscotti is the bomb, esp when its complimentary on a windy Wellington day! :)

See you again soon. :)

Sincerely yours,
Mama @ Mama Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Iv been here four times now, each time the meals have been amazing!! the small plates were jam packed full of flavours and the buttermilk chicken on savoury waffles is so different and delicious its my favourite! Loved the new addition of the airline seating. Thanks for a wonderful night, ill be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mama B, Manager at Mama Brown, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Alice

Thank you for the kind words. Airline seats are the bomb, whoops shouldn't use that in the same sentence! :) See you again next week. That waffle and southern fried chicken dish is WOW! :) Excellent choice.

The team sends you a big high five! :)

Sincerely yours,
Mama @ Mama Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

You can't wrong with anything on the menu here at Mama Brown's. We keep coming back and don't get disappointed no matter what we order. Nice touch having the air New Zealand seats installed as well, we truely felt like we were eating first class.

Thank Aston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Brown also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Mama Brown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing