We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy and fast”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #31 of 966 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Glad we got there early for dinner (5pm) as it filled up really fast after that and there was a wait for tables. The waiting staff were friendly and the service was fast. Everyone at the table was happy with their meals. The kids nacho tacos were really good and the prawn taco entree was very tasty. The clam chowder was hot and delicious. The chicken burger main was also very good.
Would recommend - fine for a family too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HatTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thanks for recommending us HatTeddy, that’s brilliant. We do try and make the Crab Shack a great place for everyone to enjoy, so it’s encouraging to hear the whole family approved! Allowing ourselves a little pat on the back, we do tend to fill up very quickly in the evenings so, as you found, we do recommend turning up earlier in the evening if you fancy grabbing a table straight away. Anyway, thanks again and hopefully see you here again soon.

All the best, The Crab Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,095 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A great place to eat, the clams are enormous and only $10! You can choose your flavourings, I had chilli, white wine and garlic, they were amazing. For my main I had the lamb rump which was cooked perfectly. All in all, it was tasty, great atmosphere, friendly staff and it was so well priced. We are going again before we leave!

Thank Rosalyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Fantastic! We’ll be here waiting for you Rosalyn D. Loved hearing your food was cooked so perfectly – we’re very proud of our kitchen crew and with good reason. Sounds like you tried the Tua Tua clams, and when combined with the white wine, chilli and garlic sauce they definitely hit the spot. Followed by the Kiwi pepper lamb rump? Good choice!

See you soon!

The Crab Shack team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

$10 for a 100mls of clam chowder which was more salt than anything else. Other meals were similarly very expensive. Not worth it, avoid.

Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Sorry to hear that Mark C – seems like we didn’t quite meet your expectations. Our 250ml New England-style Clam Chowder always goes down a treat, so not sure what happened in this case. Salt’s only used for seasoning in the dish and, alongside cream and sherry, should bring out the beautiful taste of the fresh clam meat. However, apologies if you found it too salty for your taste. Given the amount of fresh produce and top-notch ingredients that go into our dishes, our prices do tend to reflect this, though we do everything we can to bring you the best deals on seafood that you’ll find in Wellington. If you’re ever nearby again then please do give us another try; we’d love a chance to change your mind!

All the best,
The Crab Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was a awesome restaurant for casual dinning. Loved the interior. Great location. If you like seafood this is the place and well priced. Awesome experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thanks TLG4. Great to hear. Come give us another try soon and thanks for the recommendation!

The Crab Shack team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We went to Crab Shack on a Wed. night and were told it was a 45min wait but luckily a table opened pretty much immediately. This seems to be one of the few places that have a decent selection of shellfish. We had the crab and prawn cakes as a starter which were good. I had the kg of paddle crab which was cooked in a flavourful chili butter. Only drawback was that these particular crab are quite small.

Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Hi Brett M,

Glad you were pleased with our shellfish selection – we do what we can to ensure our customers have their work cut out with such a tempting variety of dishes on offer! Sounds like you walked in at just the right time too. Even mid-week we’re a very popular destination for folks, so great to hear you managed to get a table so quickly. While the 1kg Nelson paddle crab dish gives you a generous helping, it’s certainly not the largest crab on our menu – for that, look no further than our 800g of Chilean Red King Crab. While it’s more expensive than the Nelson, it’s a sight to see

The Crab Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing