We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #85 of 1,007 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well we went too the crab shack on a Wednesday night, and we really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly, and the food was wonderful, we enjoyed.

Prices for the meals were really reasonable, and on leaving I asked was there one going too be opened up in auckland and the lady said yes, so when it does, we will be there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Sharyn64 –

Great to hear! Friendly staff, fair prices, and truly wonderful food. To be fair, we do think we’re on to a bit of a winning combination here! We’re definitely excited with our plans for Auckland so do make sure you come and check out the new place when it opens.

Thanks again, the Crab Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,244 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

The interior is very groovy and comfortable. The service excellent, very quick with orders and childrens menu excellent with good portions and good value for money.
The fish of the day was delicious and not floating in sauce or dressings. We tried to get a table again with some friends for a return visit but couldn't get a table!

Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Bill

Thanks for your review; great to hear we managed to win you and your family over, we’re just sorry we couldn’t squeeze you in on your return visit for more delicious Crab Shack goodness! Hope to see you back again soon though.

Cheers, The Crab Shack team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Arrived early at 6.00 p.m on a Saturday night as this place doesn't take bookings which I find very annoying so thought we'd beat the rush - wrong. Still had to wait 45 mins for a table - why don't they take bookings??!!
Ordered the house special of a bucket of crabs -$30. Order was delayed coming out and had to chase. Food very good but having ordered crabs once that will do me. Be prepared to fight for your food with provided shell crackers, pick, etc. Bib provided.
Great funky decor and friendly wait staff who all seemed to be from Europe or South America.
90 % of tables are tall tables and bar stools which isn't my ideal so be prepared for that as I wasn't. Would prefer regular table and chairs and no I'm not a geriatric.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Camda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Camda,

Thanks for your comment. Sounds like we didn’t quite manage to hit it right for you this time so apologies for that. No one (apart from our suppliers) should have to chase for their crab! Great to hear you enjoyed our delicious crab though and made good use of the bib, finger bowl, shell crackers etc. The way we’ve set out the Crab Shack all contributes to the great atmosphere you found, and the bar stools definitely play their role in that décor and vibe, though by our count it’s closer to 55% tall tables and stools. Regardless, we can totally understand a preference for a low table and can normally cater for customers’ wishes in that regard, albeit perhaps with a little juggling of tables. Just mention it to one of us next time you come and we’ll do our very best to accommodate you.

As for the booking policy, we’ve got to be honest and say it’s not likely to change at the moment – due to the numbers through our doors we’ve found it makes life easier for everyone in the long run to keep things more fluid. However, we really hope this won’t put you off giving us another go – we’ve got plenty of other seafood to try without a crab shell in sight!

Thanks again, The Crab Shack team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

To be honest I did not expect to enjoy this meal for a few reasons. Firstly i went just after they opened and was not wowed - at all, my partner is not keen on crab and it was a Tuesday - date night for us but also seems to be the day for the B chef.

Instead I was blown away. We had entrees - the special of prawns in a bucket and the croquettes (a childhood yearning) - one word fantastic! The prawns were amazing and the sauce delicious, the croquettes lovely - although latter to be a little too much. We also ordered a very reasonably priced Viognier which was lovely - not too sweet - not too tart with a lovely flavour.

Then the mains - WOW and WOW again. My non crab eating partner had the lamb, it was by all account delicious - it certainly looked amazing, the mint sauce was much more than a sauce, the accompanying potatoes fantastic and the coleslaw good.

I ordered the crab - when in Rome etc. The paddle crab was simply an experience, and beautifully cooked. It was as warned - messy and also delicious. The sauces it was cooked in just right for this relatively delicate food, the crab itself - perfect.

You really should go would be my recommendation - one more thing - all up price was $117 and that was before the $25 off from the Entertainment Book - a great deal!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hi Steve H,

Thank you for such a great review, glad to hear that we, on this occasion, went above and beyond your expectations. The bucket of prawns on Tuesday between 3.30pm and 6.30pm is a popular one, deep fried and delicious, especially on a cold, dark evening such as the ones we are having now! The same can be said for a lot of our menue, large portions of gd ol' comfort food for a gloomy winter evening, especially the shack board of mac and cheese croquettes, perfect hearty winter warmers! Glad to hear you are also enjoying our wine list, as even though we are a 'casual' style restaurant, we have a variety of wines and higher end liqeurs available, and the Viognier is a recent addition (and personal favourite), especially to accompany the rich buttery sauce of the Paddle Crab. I am glad to have changed your initial reservations about visiting us once more, so wipe that crab from your chin and come back for round 2!

Regards,

The Crab Shack Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We took our kids here for dinner and had a lovely time. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meal was great. Great atmosphere and very family friendly, we had a fantastic night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank summerdaze36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hi Summerdaze,

Thank you for a great review, we do pride ourselves on our bubbly waitstaff and our family friendly atmosphere, with fun retro music and dance videos, and colour in menues for the under 12's. We like to think that we can cater for all generations with our varied menu, with everything from mulled wine to warm up older bones to a raspberry coke soda spider for the younger memebers of the family. Remember, on Sundays, if you do have under 12's who are starving on a Sunday morning walk around the harbour, we do have our amazing offer of kids eat free that runs all day until 6.30pm, but get in quickly, we do get busy!! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing