We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual, pleasant environment with yummy food”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #30 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
saratoga springs, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Casual, pleasant environment with yummy food”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We each had fish...a main dish, and a "scoop" of clams and mussels. The menu took some time to figure out, but it was all quite good once we deciphered things. There were lots of items other than crab!!! It was a dark and rainy night, but the location by the water could be a nice element in good weather. I don't think there is outdoor seating but it's a nautical-harbor setting!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizm_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Lizm_60,

Thanks for dropping us a line after your visit. Casual is how we like to keep things, albeit while maintaining our well-known high standards. Loads of our customers like to eat here because of the environment and we’re rightly quite proud of it! Sorry if you struggled with the menu though; we always try to ensure our wait staff visit each table to guide them through it – with a wide variety of delicious dishes to try it’s definitely not all crab as you found for yourselves. Lastly, make sure you pay us a repeat visit on a nicer day as we’ve actually got a great outdoor space on the water. On our sun deck you can kick back on a bean bag, catch the rays, enjoy a few drinks and peruse our snack menu. Hopefully see you soon!

The Crab Shack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    488
    172
    51
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fab resturant”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Thank you Simon Gault. What a fab fun restaurant. Had dinner here tonight fantastic food great atmosphere and amazing staff -never hurried you but we're very attentive and knew the stuff. A special thanks to 'Paul' our fab waiter we had a great time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theDayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
TheDayz,

Thanks for your wonderful review. What a fantastic experience you had with us, that’s the stuff we love to hear. Paul is certainly an asset to our team and we’re glad he took such very good care of you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Crab Shack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“great Lunch for large group”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently went with our car club for a Sunday lunch & were delighted with the service,atmosphere & food!
Considering we were a group of over 25 people there was no waiting for food to be delivered to all at same time.
The restaurant was buzzing with many other customers enjoying their meals.
The food came out on enamel plates which was a real novelty & talking point! The beers were served from old preserving jars which was rather delightful.
I had a ca jun fish salad which was delicious. Some of the others tried fish burgers which were enormous, while others tried the crab dishes.
Nice wines too.
Value for money & would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jockandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Jockandcolleen,

We’re delighted at what a great experience you had with us. Catering for large groups is always a challenge but our trusty team of chefs does their utmost to expedite the food as efficiently as possible. It’s a great asset to us to have a menu that can tailor to either several courses, or tapas style snacks and nibbles to share with friends.

We think we deliver some great value for money too. We hope we see you back again soon on your next club outing.

The Crab Shack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Crowded”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Average food - Crowded Atmosphere - Loud/Noisey

Not a good dinning experiance

It is doubtful if we will return

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth_and_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Elizabeth_and_Wayne,

We do tend to be a very busy and bustling restaurant. We think it’s something that gives us a different flavour of dining in Wellington. We’re disappointed you didn’t enjoy the food as we aim to deliver a variety of fresh and tasty options at an affordable price point. Alas, we can not woo everybody.

The Crab Shack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun for the family. ”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I reviewed this place earlier this year as we came here at New Years. The meal I had was ok but I wanted to give it another shot as I really liked the concept of the restaurant. It's a busy, loud but fun place & the kids love it. Still unable to tackle the actual crab (impossible with breastfeeding bubba on my lap) I opted for the fish -Cajun catch of the day which was deelish, fresh & tasty. I'll be back for the actual crabs again soon. Go early, this place starts heaving early & it gets loud with lots of families!

Helpful?
Thank Fifi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Fifi L,

Great to have had you back again! We’re so pleased you gave us another go and enjoyed yourself. We do like to be a restaurant that is family friendly, who better to appreciate the noisy hustle & bustle than kids who already thrive in the pandemonium and excitement. Glad you enjoyed our Catch of the day, it’s certainly a winner. We look forward to seeing you back again when you’ve got your hands free and can roll up your sleeves to tuck into some fresh crabs!

The Crab Shack Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing