We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the fresh seafood”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #30 of 921 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stick to the fresh seafood”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

There was a 75 minute wait for a table on Saturday so we left and returned on Sunday to a much quieter restaurant. This is a fun, lively place and the staff are friendly and young and our service was excellent. I seem to recall they served my beer in a Jamjar - different! The soft shell crab was excellent and the fresh clams as a starter were wonderful. We both ordered Cajun Fish of the day for mains and although well cooked but with the accompanying slaw and Rosti it wasn't the most well presented dish. We saw other diners having fresh seafood and were a little envious!
Recommended but I would go for the fresh seafood in future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello yarrow1946,

Good thinking returning the next day, it can get a bit crazy round here on Saturday nights! We are definitely a lively restaurant but still aim to give friendly and attentive service. We have the luxury of all of our fish being filleted on premise so it is lovely and fresh, however it may not compare to the crabs running round the back of the restaurant or the clams which are still clapping in the kitchen.

Warm regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    488
    172
    51
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“$10 Jar of Soup”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

In general the food tasted good but I was disappointed in the value received when I paid for a "jar" (a half mason size) of clam chowder that arrived with no crackers or bread. When I asked for some I was told there were no crackers and the bread was $6.50.

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Kim G,

Sorry you didn’t find the clam chowder to be good value. Our chowder is made in the New England style, from home made fish stock which has been thickened with a Roux, steamed clam meat and finished off with seasoning, a dash of fresh cream & sherry to serve. We don’t serve with bread as we like to have the option of adding a side of bread as a meal, or the ability to order further dishes without becoming too full as our menu has an emphasis on sharing. We feel it is great value for the quality and fresh ingredients which go into making this dish.


Warm regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went here for lunch on a lovely sunny day and sat outside which had a great atmosphere and we could have sat there for hours, but we were a little disappointed that the menu that they offer inside you don't get outside, however the food that we did order was quite nice, although our calamari was a bit hit and miss. We mentioned this to the waitress with no intentions other than to just let them know and they kindly took this off the bill. We would certainly go back and would like to try a few things off the inside menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatlivego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Ianandjade,

Great you were able to enjoy the sunshine on the outside deck! Apologies for the calamari, we usually have fantastic feedback on this dish. Unfortunately, the additional area offered when the deck is open does add quite a bit of pressure to our already busy little kitchen; however you are more than welcome to dine off the full menu on the tables just outside the French doors. We hope you to see you again soon!

Warm regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was my second time at the Crab Shack. I went on a late Monday afternoon and they happened to have 1/2 price mussels. Don't miss the mussels. They are fantastic! Of course you need the bread to sop up the goodies. I also tried the shrimp and mac/cheese coquette - amazing! The staff is very attentive and they have great music/videos playing to keep you entertained. This place gets packed during high times so be prepared to wait - have a cocktail, chill out, and wait for an amazing meal! Did I mention you should try the mussels?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JIBuchholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi JIBuchholz,

Thanks for your feedback and we’re so glad you ventured in for another visit and had such a fantastic afternoon. Those mussels are delicious we agree! We’re glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
561 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Nice food - good vibe”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

3 of us went on a Friday night at around 8pm - having been advised of a 45 minute wait we went through to the bar for a drink - after about 15 minutes they came and found us and took us and our drinks to our table (bar tab gets added to the restaurant bill)

The restaurant has a nice feel about it - with lots of people having fun. Service was good - very easy/casual which suited the vibe of the place..

Having seen what others were having we opted to just have a selection of their small plates - I can recommend the calamari and chorizo salad, fish cakes and fried calamari, raw fish, cockles.

The food comes out very quickly after you order so you don't need to order it all at the beginning - have a few plates and then decide what to repeat or try

We were well fed for $40 each and will be back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hey there kiwi-traveller-PS,
Unfortunately, dining is far from an exact science. Our waitlist fluctuates greatly from night to night, hour to hour but one thing we can guarantee is that once you are seated, your food isn't much further behind.
Your recommendation on tasting various platters and ordering to share is spot on. Our staff, menu and overall environment encourage sharing- no one wants to dine with food envy, so why not try it all?
Sincerely,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing