We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice setting, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #29 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, nice setting, great service”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had a very enjoyable lunch at the Crab Shack today. I was greeted as I entered, given a choice of tables, and served in a friendly and efficient way.

I ordered the prawn and crab cakes which were made with shredded but recognisable pieces of prawn and crab rather than the puréed gray sludge so common in takeaways. They were cooked perfectly and were delicious.

The beer and wine menu offered a wide selection of good quality beverages at a range of prices.

If I was spending more time in Wellington I would happily go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NT_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi NT Jay,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your lunch. Our crab cakes are made daily from Tiger prawns and Antarctic crab to get all flavour and no sludge. Our beer and wine list attempts to encompass the range of New Zealand varietals for all palettes and price tags. We hope that you do indeed spend some more time in Wellington so that we can get those four stars up to five!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    473
    159
    47
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Always great service always great food, can't get enough of this place. Love the shrimp cocktail with that Bloody Mary Mayo and can never go past the Calamari dreamy bites of heavenly deliciousness...get me there now STAT!!

Helpful?
Thank RochelleDorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hey Rochelle,
Your enthusiasm for food and service may indeed match our own! Here’s a little known fact for you: we marinate our calamari in Kiwi fruit for two hours to make sure it’s up to your heavenly standards. We hope you get here again STAT!
Regards,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“for seafood lovers”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

it is amazing place,nice and busy we had to wait 45 minutes for a table which gave us the opportunity to walk around and enjoy the waterfront.I had shellfish and 1 kg nelson crab and it was so delicious that i could have another 2 kg with some more beers.wife had fish and the portion was really big.will deff go back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BJBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hey BJBG,

We are so happy that you were able to make the most of your wait time! Sounds like beer, crab and fish are just the thing after a stroll around the water. We can’t wait to have you back.

Cheers,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delish food”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stopped in on our way from Auckland and boy were we surprised! The service is like being in the US - sorry NZ but your service often stinks and you've got a lot to learn from the US and UK, namely basic things like wiping tables down, understanding the menu and offering refills on drinks.

This place didn't disappoint: we were given prompt and friendly service, told the specials immediately, any questions we had were answered, and best of all: we didn't have to ASK for anything! As soon as our drinks got low someone offered a refill.

They keep cutlery, napkins, S+P and tomato sauce at the table which is really handy. There was none of that lousy "serviette" nonsense where you're expected to eat finger food with a tiny paper napkin. A few minutes into our meal we were asked how everything was and if we needed anything. I can't remember the last time a Kiwi server did that - certainly not in Auckland!

The food was outstanding. We ordered a variety of starters - all good - but the stand-out was the mixed scoop of clams. It was perfectly seasoned and not a bad price at all. I can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi TamaBlue,

That’s what we like to hear! Food and wine knowledge for our staff is an integral part of our training- even better when our customers ask about it, so thank you so much for your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crab Shack Wellington Waterfront”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had lunch here and the food was fantastic. Services quick and efficient and the décor arty and a great talking point.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hillhead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hillhead12,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your full Crab Shack experience. We take pride in our building’s presentation just as much as our food’s!
Cheers,
The Crab Shack Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing