We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its our work team's local cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Classic

Cafe Classic
Ranked #43 of 51 Coffee & Tea in Wellington
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Its our work team's local cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Our office is jjust down the road from the Cafe Classic, and its become our local. At least 3 -4 times a week we'll head down for coffee's and either a scone or muffin. The layout upstairs means you can always find a quiet, private spot for a business meeting, or just to share a laugh

The staff are always extremely friendly - seeing one of the other comments about them not smiling is interesting. Maybe the reviewer needs to put some effort into being friendly himself.

Free wifi is great, and the cafe is a warm haven on cold, wet Wellington winter days. We haven't been out on the balcony yet - but looking forward to it as we head into summer.

We'll be back - again and again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andye10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The world
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I also work near this place. The standered of the coffee is not good enough, its so hit and miss. The last 3 times has been shocking bad coffee, someone really needs more training on how to make a flat white.

As for the sfaff a smile would not go a miss!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoy quiet brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have been here a couple of times for brunch. Each time we have had good service and food that is fresh and well cooked.

Reasonably priced and a bit out of the way from the main centre. Specials change regularly and are generally good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poached Eggs To Perfection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I am liking this cafe. I like the upstairs area which is designed in such a way that even when full the volume from other tables is not too distracting. Coffee is good and the menu food is more than adequate (there is also cabinet food). Best eggs benedict (with smoked salmon instead of ham) in town. The eggs are poached firm on the outside with runny yolks. Arrives hot everytime. Great with a side order of fries which are some of the best eaten. Alcohol available.

Service is average at the counter however the service staff are friendly and prompt with any requests and the clearing of tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't Bother...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I work in the area so I've been here a few times. The service has been bad on a couple visits but today was by far the worse. My advice, is that if you're having a meltdown in-house DO NOT take it out on your customers, unless you want negative feedback - like what I'm about to give.

One staff member (a tall, potentially beautiful blonde) blatantly had a go at another staff member for making a mistake on the til in front of a whole queue of customers and then took over the register with her bad attitude. When served, there was no service from her whatsoever - not even a hello. The signs clearly stated that the 'mini breakfast' is $8. The waitress tried to charge me $10. I politely told her the sign states otherwise and another waitress challenged me and walked outside to check the signs - which had been changed except for one (the one that I had seen). Finally the transaction was made at $8 and we all received our breakfasts. The eggs were overcooked and a bit burnt, the hashbrown was oily, the sausages were two tiny things you could probably find in a baked beans can and the bacon and baked beans were fine. Not once were we asked for water or how our meals were there were roughly 5 waitress working and roughly 3 kitchen staff to service 4 occupied tables so can't understand why not.

Bad experience we will not be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arihia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Classic also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cafe Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing