We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, cosy and convenient hideaway.”
other travelers have booked this property
Wisteria arcade early summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria arcade early summer
Potager with vegetables on the way ApTrAp's conservatory window - doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Wisteria arcade early summer
Potager with vegetables on the way
ApTrAp's conservatory window - doors
Kia ora - welcome; your private entrance to ApTrAp.
Greet the Fijian masi as you come in
Conservatory - relax and enjoy the flowers
Kitchen
Studio with sofa bed
Studio from kitchen
Double bed room
Good night, sleep well.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LisaC8433
2 reviews
“Gorgeous, cosy and convenient hideaway.”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The apartment was very comfortable, well furnished and everything was provided to make it feel like home. There was even a beautiful garden to explore with flowers, fruit and vegetables growing abundantly. Marjorie is truly the queen of gardeners.
Our hosts Marjorie and Ian were just fabulous, so generous with delicious homemade cookies on our arrival, fresh made hot cross buns, fruit and veggies from the garden and highly tolerant of our 2 little dogs who were not always the best behaved.
The location was perfect for exploring Wellington by car and public transport as well as easy foot access to the great southern walkway and Mount Victoria. It was a short walk to the local shops for groceries and a good choice of cafes and restaurants.
We loved our stay at Apple tree apartment, it was a hidden bit of paradise in the city.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marian C
2 reviews
“A garden lovers delight”
Reviewed April 12, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A very hospitable host. Lovely large apartment and easy to catch the bus into the city. The garden is gorgeous and an added bonus to make you feel relaxed. Generous host with garden herbs and fruit. If the weather is bad then there is a Conservatorium to sit and relax in to look out onto the garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noniw
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An oasis in Wellington”
Reviewed January 26, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed at Apple Tree Apartment two years ago and returned this month. Though we were visiting family across town, we wanted to enjoy the Apple Tree once again. Ian and Marjorie are welcoming and helpful without being at all intrusive. Drinking a coffee in the fully glassed solarium is a morning treat, as is walking out the sliding glass doors to explore the garden’s abundance of flowers, fruits and veggies. The mattress and linens are very nice, the kitchen well-equipped and towels sun-dried. Walk to the bus stop, where frequent buses make pick ups for the short ride into the Central Business District, is 10 minutes. We have already scheduled a third visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2018
Nora and Rob are delightful guests - and obviously very observant and gracious ! It is our great pleasure to have them stay with us - and to know that they appreciate the simple pleasures that ApTrAp has to offer !
Ian and Marjorie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscesman...
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis...”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at ApTrAp for a week and would have liked to stay another week! Ian and Marjorie were gracious hosts who provided advice and assistance whenever we asked. We were four adults so two stayed in the studio area, and we had to all share one bathroom. The apartment is very well-equipped, clean, and spacious. The sunroom which looked out over a beautiful garden was an unexpected plus. Close to buses (20 minutes to downtown), parks, restaurants, and grocery stores. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlcawthan
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable stay in Wellington”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our two nights staying in Apple Tree Apartment. The apartment is centrally located in Wellington with easy access to public transport plus it is also an easy drive to the airport and InterIsland Ferry terminal.
This apartment is very spacious and well equipped. The garden in which it is located is very pretty and tranquil, big windows look out into the garden.
Ian and Marjorie made us feel very welcome, they respected our privacy while also making time to answer any questions we had.
We would like to have another holiday in this lovely apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Very kind review from Noel and Lois - it was a great pleasure to host them and we'll be delighted to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyMari...
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Do not book last minute due to very poor communication”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We reserved this apartment through Trip Advisor on short notice, we were arriving the following day. The website allowed us to make this reservation, however we did not realize that the owner had 24 hours to respond at the time of booking, our credit card was authorized so we then waited. Usually when I reserve apartment through AirBnB or Book A Bach, there is prompt communication, within an hour or so, so I was expecting the same. I reserved Apple Tree at 7:00AM, and I had not heard from the owner until the next day (when we were planning to travel!). By then I was worried that they could decline, and by then all the other options in Wellington were booked, but he had my credit card, so I needed to wait 24 hours. I even contacted previous guests of this property to obtain his phone number, and email, which I tried, and I left a message that evening (no answer). The next day (the day I had reserved) he called and said that the place was already booked !!! leaving us scrambling to find another place at the last minute. We ended up in Palmerston North as we had a baby and we couldn't be sitting there doing research or waiting again. Everything in Wellington was now booked. Why would the owner leave the dates open to reserve if it was already booked and why did it take him over 24 hours to let me know!! For these reasons, I have given a very poor review. If you are hosting a property at least respond to messages and a phone call.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2017
Thank you for this review, Jennifer. We apologise for the tardy reply to your enquiry. This was the result of our failure to mark ApTrAp as unavailable on the days over which we were away, and the failure of the Trip Advisor web-site to accept and send on to you the eight messages we tried to send you from our tablet while we were out of Wellington. We are grateful for your warning to other potential short notice bookers. As is regrettably evident, ApTrAp is managed by amateur retirees and we are very sorry to have disappointed you in this way. Best wishes Ian Johnstone and Marjorie Montagu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking out at the garden and not having to do anything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing