We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A quiet oasis...”
other travelers have booked this property
Wisteria arcade early summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria arcade early summer
Potager with vegetables on the way ApTrAp's conservatory window - doors
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Wisteria arcade early summer
Potager with vegetables on the way
ApTrAp's conservatory window - doors
Kia ora - welcome; your private entrance to ApTrAp.
Greet the Fijian masi as you come in
Conservatory - relax and enjoy the flowers
Kitchen
Studio with sofa bed
Studio from kitchen
Double bed room
Good night, sleep well.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Piscesman...
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis...”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed at ApTrAp for a week and would have liked to stay another week! Ian and Marjorie were gracious hosts who provided advice and assistance whenever we asked. We were four adults so two stayed in the studio area, and we had to all share one bathroom. The apartment is very well-equipped, clean, and spacious. The sunroom which looked out over a beautiful garden was an unexpected plus. Close to buses (20 minutes to downtown), parks, restaurants, and grocery stores. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nlcawthan
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable stay in Wellington”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our two nights staying in Apple Tree Apartment. The apartment is centrally located in Wellington with easy access to public transport plus it is also an easy drive to the airport and InterIsland Ferry terminal.
This apartment is very spacious and well equipped. The garden in which it is located is very pretty and tranquil, big windows look out into the garden.
Ian and Marjorie made us feel very welcome, they respected our privacy while also making time to answer any questions we had.
We would like to have another holiday in this lovely apartment.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2017
Very kind review from Noel and Lois - it was a great pleasure to host them and we'll be delighted to see them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyMari...
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Do not book last minute due to very poor communication”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We reserved this apartment through Trip Advisor on short notice, we were arriving the following day. The website allowed us to make this reservation, however we did not realize that the owner had 24 hours to respond at the time of booking, our credit card was authorized so we then waited. Usually when I reserve apartment through AirBnB or Book A Bach, there is prompt communication, within an hour or so, so I was expecting the same. I reserved Apple Tree at 7:00AM, and I had not heard from the owner until the next day (when we were planning to travel!). By then I was worried that they could decline, and by then all the other options in Wellington were booked, but he had my credit card, so I needed to wait 24 hours. I even contacted previous guests of this property to obtain his phone number, and email, which I tried, and I left a message that evening (no answer). The next day (the day I had reserved) he called and said that the place was already booked !!! leaving us scrambling to find another place at the last minute. We ended up in Palmerston North as we had a baby and we couldn't be sitting there doing research or waiting again. Everything in Wellington was now booked. Why would the owner leave the dates open to reserve if it was already booked and why did it take him over 24 hours to let me know!! For these reasons, I have given a very poor review. If you are hosting a property at least respond to messages and a phone call.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2017
Thank you for this review, Jennifer. We apologise for the tardy reply to your enquiry. This was the result of our failure to mark ApTrAp as unavailable on the days over which we were away, and the failure of the Trip Advisor web-site to accept and send on to you the eight messages we tried to send you from our tablet while we were out of Wellington. We are grateful for your warning to other potential short notice bookers. As is regrettably evident, ApTrAp is managed by amateur retirees and we are very sorry to have disappointed you in this way. Best wishes Ian Johnstone and Marjorie Montagu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Looking out at the garden and not having to do anything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GreydogMe...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Calm in Wellington”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wellington has a reputation for windy weather but we were lucky enough to have a week with just the gentlest breezes. But the cosy garden setting of Appletree Apartment would provide a calm respite from the wildest weather.
The cottage is hidden away on the lower level of a suburban house with an attractive outlook into the well tended garden. The bedroom is very comfortable with a range of bed covering options from the warmest doona to lightweight blankets. The gentle warmth from the underfloor heating ensured that we didn't bother with the doona after our first night! The sounds of blackbirds, tuis and other garden birds provided a great way to start each new day.
The apartment has a neat kitchen fully equipped with an electric oven and cooktop, a good array of pots, pans and cookery utensils. The stove unit actually included a small dishwasher niftily tucked away beneath it.
There is a dining table in the main living room which can be folded to create additional space if required. The living room is in fact quite spacious even with the table fully extended. It is an attractively presented room which is comfortable and cosy. The adjoining sun room has large floor to ceiling windows on two walls that face out into the garden. On warm days these windows can be fully opened allowing the scents of the spring flowers to enter the room.
The apartment is in an excellent location. It is on the corner of two very quiet residential streets and yet only a 5 minute scenic minute walk to the nearest bus stop. Wellington's bus system was a revelation. The frequency of the very well patronised bus service into the city centre meant that we didn't even bother looking up a timetable and even used the bus for our Saturday night out in the city.
The shopping strip in Newtown's Riddiford Street has a quirky mix of shops, fresh food, cafes and restaurants within colourful timber buildings dating from the early 1900's. It is a 15 minute walk or much shorter bus trip from the apartment.
Our hosts were welcoming and friendly. They generously encouraged us to use some of the seasonal produce from their garden when we decided to take a break from Wellington's excellent restaurants and cook a meal ourselves.
All in all Apple Tree Apartment provided a perfect base our week of exploring the charms of Wellington and its scenic hinterland.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall location and garden setting
Liked least: Occasional noise from residence above
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZnicks
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place with a lovely garden.”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Everything supplied that could possibly be needed Little extras even included some home made biscuits. Very steep hilly access on foot, much better with a car.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere with conservatory, garden and trees.
Liked least: Steep hilly streets require some effort to climb.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn F
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to Wellington”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Ian and Marge were very gracious hosts and the accommodation was perfect for our stay in Wellington. A quiet garden setting and still close to the city centre and airport. A very well set up kitchenette made cooking simple and enjoyable and the sun room was perfect for a afternoon drink or catching up on holiday correspondence.

Really enjoyed our chats with the hosts and they even drove us to the airport which was greatly appreciated. This is an ideal location for couples wishing to stay in Wellington in a comfortable and relaxed setting.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing