We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food well priced.”
Review of SOHO Brown Lambton Quay - CLOSED

SOHO Brown Lambton Quay
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food well priced.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Soho Browns today. Amazing Macaroni with 5 cheeses was decadent but delightful with a side of hot, crisp string fries with wonderful garlic aioli. There are many food options in the cabinet or hot ordered food which came out quickly considering it was lunch hour and full of workers.
Despite previous reviews we were happy with our experience which ended with a reasonably priced bill.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    11
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Coast
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent casual atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I were looking for just such a café as Soho Brown's on Cuba Street. We went for dinner where they have inexpensive main dishes and a comprehensive selection of cabinet food. There was a $5 house wine special with a hot main dish so opted for that. We had shepherd's pie and a Maylasian curry. Both were excellent and the wine was good too. It was hard selecting from the available desserts, so many looked terrific and we enjoyed our choices--a slice and a yoghurt sort of a sundae.
The young staff members were well presented and very friendly. We'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Value and Tasty, Too!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After paying quite a bit for supper the previous nights, we were attracted to the menu and prices at Soho Brown's on Cuba Street. For a lighter supper, I got a big bowl of tomato soup with a roll for around $10 and my traveling buddies got very delicious Shepherd's Pie and Chicken Pesto Pasta for $12.50. The portions were not huge, but enough to satisfy. We found the staff friendly and the atmosphere low-key, which was nice compared to some of the louder bar establishments. I'd recommend you give this a look!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kingsport_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch time atmosphere and nice food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I often have lunch here when I have time to enjoy it during the week. The selection is generally good (unless you arrive later in the day), with a range of salads, feta parcels, soups, range of sandwiches/rolls and savory items - but their sweet selection has to be their best part! Pretty good value for money, staff are fairly friendly - and nice atmosphere. It's not too noisy to hold a conversation like the place next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“"Relaxing atmostphere!"”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped for lunch at this cute and inviting cafe on Cuba Street. We had a hard time choosing from the wide selection of pre-made items at the counter, but finally settled on a lamb sandwich on brown bread, and a veggie sandwich on a baguette. Both were fresh and delicious. Recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOHO Brown Lambton Quay also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing