We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of a Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muse on Allen - CLOSED

Muse on Allen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Muse on Allen Restaurant & Bar offering contemporary New Zealand/European cuisine restaurant, located in Allen Street. Samuel North founded Muse on Allen - Restaurant and Bar, out of a mutual love for contemporary fine dining, cuisine, beautiful produce, and exquisite flavours. Consistently implementing new and modern cooking techniques, Samuel uses the most organic, fresh and local products as possible. He has however, given the menu an injection of quality, exciting and fragrant international ingredients to compliment our home grown and home reared elements. It is a wonderful experience to sample the menu created and prepared by Samuel.
Wellington
Level Contributor
209 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bit of a Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Recently went here with some friends. The food was just lovely, and the waiter was very friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beaniewellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    38
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

First visit here and we will definitely be back. Certainly one of the better meals we have had in Wellington. Nice surroundings were complemented by excellent service. We had the entree tasting plate for two which was outstanding. The duck main was equally impressive and the generously sized lamb wellington very good although a tad overcooked. We finished with a dessert cocktail that was delicious and left very happy,

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wgtn, NZ
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Selected on a whim”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

As a way of guaranteeing an early park for a night at the theatre, this was an inspired choice. As we were early the noise level was at a minimum, the waiters were friendly, professional & attentive & the food absolutely delicious. The lamb Wellington was cooked to perfection & the grouper selected by the other half was also commented on favourably.
This was an evening highlight as the theatre was anything but - next time we shall stick with the menu all the way through & not bother with alternative entertainment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Five Stars”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I dined at Muse Restaurant in February, we purchased the 5 course degustation voucher deal.

We’ve purchased many voucher deals through online sites to dine in London and Wellington, but never have we had an experience quite like this through a deal.

Our wait staff was professional and friendly and knew the exact construction of each of our five dishes in detail. He even knew the origins of the recipes. The service alone at this restaurant gives it the 5 stars it deserves.

The food was simply amazing. Five delicious courses of fresh ingredients put together in a way to delight your tastebuds. Usually my husband doesn’t eat certain foods (a lot of certain foods!), but he had cleared every one of his plates. And if it wasn’t a set menu, I probably would not have ordered the dishes we were served based on the descriptions (only because they didn’t sound like my cup of tea), but the presentation of the dishes and flavours of the food soon changed my mind.

We will definitely come back to Muse, in fact, we are looking forward to it. The last time we dined this well was in London, what a delightful surprise to find a restaurant in Wellington with this service and food of this standard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wickedwomandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The waiters were great - they were able to offer a taste of wines that might match the meals we'd chosen and all their recommendations were excellent.

We had the tasting plate for starters to share which had very good choices to showcase their menu - beautiful balance of flavours - recommend this for couples.

The mains were very good as well, we had duck and beef - very tasty.

The deserts all sounded amazing but we were too full and will have to come back when we have more time to linger between courses.

For me it was all about the food and service - I didn't really notice any lack in atmosphere as others have stated, but then I wasn't looking for it either.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muse on Allen also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing