We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem up lots of stairs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ti Kouka Cafe

Ti Kouka Cafe
Ranked #112 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ti Kouka cafe was started by brothers Jesse Simpson and Shepherd Elliott in November 2010. Jesse runs the front of house and makes the beautiful coffees and Shepherd runs the kitchen and makes the delicious food. We use local, sustainable and organic produce when ever possible. We use Flight's beautiful direct trade and organic coffee and Zorganic's milk and other dairy products. We also offer free range and organic eggs, chicken and juices. We believe that using the best ingredients gives our food and drinks an edge that you can taste. We also believe we have a responsibility to do what we can to make sure we can continue to have the standard of produce we enjoy now. We compost all our scraps, recycle everything we can and will continue to improve as we go. In November of 2013 we opened Leeds St Bakery to supply TK and many others around wellington with Beautiful organic artisan breads.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
390 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem up lots of stairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hidden gem. Fantastic Big Breakfast with beautifully done scrambled eggs [best breakfast in a cafe for a long time] But unfortunately felt the coffee was burnt. But would return as the food was so good

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    41
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food was good, service staff was a little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Went there for lunch and ordered a steak with a side of chips.

Steak was a little over. But still forgivable.

Garnish that came with the steak was so good that I wished I had more.

Chips were fried to perfection. Nice, crisp and golden on the outside and fluffy on the inside.

Service was a let down because my server didn't inform me that they were offering crispy roasted pork as a special that day. I am a huge sucker for anything pork with a crispy crackling.

I only knew about the special when the server serving the table next to mine, mentioned it to them. But by then, I was already halfway through my slightly overcooked steak.



Helpful?
1 Thank mhsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Kiwi Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely food, easy, simple, upstairs on Willis Street. You don't feel crammed in either. Good lunch time spot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJnJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Finally! A cafe with not all the same items as the one next door! Staff are warm and inviting despite not having a booking. Food came out quick, humble dishes but delicious! Very happy paying for what we received. Will definitely return and recommend to others!

Helpful?
Thank Carlita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An undiscovered gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I've been here a couple of times now and I think that the service and food is excellent. It's tucked away up a set of steep stairs but worth the ascent. Fresh food, lots of specials, reasonable price, great coffee.

What more can you say?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Kouka Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ti Kouka Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing