We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday breakfast was good, nice selection!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Felix Cafe

Felix Cafe
Ranked #12 of 51 Coffee & Tea in Wellington
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast was good, nice selection!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time visiting this cafe, was a Sunday morning but not super busy. Good menu to choose from for brunch or from the lunch menu if you like. Nice selection of cakes which, sticky date cake was yum. Food seems to be good quality, and I applaud them for using free range eggs that’s awesome! Atmosphere was ok, not loud and easy to have a chat which is a nice change. Only downside is the service I guess, the seating arrangement seems a little messy, people were seating themselves then told they had to move because they had a reservation coming in. My suggestion: greet people as soon as they get in the door don’t leave them floundering around thinking what do we do here, do we sit do we wait. I got the feeling that the manager was stressed and the staff all seemed to be feeling it too. Even if it’s been a bad morning, chill, smile and don’t let the customers notice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    47
    23
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It looked good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Popped in for cake and coffee, they were busy but not flat out crazy busy as there were still a few seating options. Ordered 2 types of cake which was amazing (lemon sour cake) and good (chocolate cake), I couldn't help but think how amazing the chocolate cake would have been with cream, or washed down with a hot chocolate. For a little bit I thought the hot chocolate had eloped with the cream, after 20mins, our hot chocolates arrived. They were nice, better if they had used proper marshmallows as the ones we received didn't even come close to melting in the drink like marshmallows should. Service - can't really comment on what we didn't get, unless you count the flippant under the breath quick apology for a delay in drinks. I'm not sure, maybe if they spent more time listening to the customer and less time conversing with each other it would have been a better experience. Cake was enjoyable however not enough to make me want to go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mebeija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 people, 3 meals, 3 happy customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had lunch with two friends and all had trouble deciding as the menu was just right. I had the lamb and lentil soup, a generous serve with lots of tender lamb chunks, properly cooked lentils (how rare is that?) and bags of flavour. Didn't need the butter that was provided with the bread; had coffee which was strong but not bitter; both the others had really good food experiences also. Didn't have to pay so cannot comment on the pricing but from memory it was quite reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I love breakfast! Had the corn fritters. Staff were friendly, it was warm and buzzing, coffee was great and menu was creative and fresh.

Best breakfast I've had so far in Wellington! Well done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sub standard Wellington cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited Felix Cafe a few times over the past year. The thing with this place is it has done everything possible to become a regular Wellington cafe with cool staff and great music but the missing link is the love - where is the L.O.V.E. in this place? Mediocre food and on one occasion a raw beef burger, nice. You get the feel it's all about the money and turnover and there's no emotion or love. Similar cafes like Fidels, Espressoholic, Midnight and Deluxe have it right but unfortunately Felix is off kilter in a major way. I won't be returning as there's too many quality places in the area to choose from and sadly, Felix isn't one.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Felix Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Felix Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing