We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more!”
Review of Big Bad Wolf - CLOSED

Big Bad Wolf
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Big Bad Wolf is a unique Wellington food experience, right in the heart of the CBD. We are Wellington's first dedicated charcuterie, making all our charcuterie products in an open to view kitchen at 262 Wakefield St. There are many ways to experience the wolf; either take home from our shop, or enjoy our relaxed bistro dining and let our chefs make you something special. Bon Appetit.Open hours: Tue&Wed 9am-3pm, Thu&Fri 9am-late, Sat 10am-late, Sun 10am-3pm, Mon closed.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I expected more!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been in past and enjoyed it so decide to take a friend. Had bacon and egg role.

I expected way more bacon for a meat specialty cafe and egg was hard as a rock and coffee tasted burnt.

As most love this place maybe I just got wrong day or needed to order different but not sure a would try again as felt would have got a better tasting bacon roll a a takeaway chain for fraction of cost and thats saying something.

I think more places need to think would I be happy to be served and pay that?

Helpful?
Thank alongcommute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigBadWolfNZ, General Manager at Big Bad Wolf, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We too expect more of ourselves and sincerely apologise for what has obviously been a less than Big Bad Wolf experience for you. Thank you for alerting us to your concern and we take this very seriously. Please contact us either by email or phone and allow us the opportunity to put our best paw forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pig Lover's Paradise!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you love pork, you should come here. Come here in a group, and that way you can share platters to start off your meal. Went with a group of 3. We had 1 Sausage Platter, 1 Charcuterie Platter, 2 Pork Sandwiches and a Pork plate. Everything was good. Just one problem, I wish I had more pork crackling.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delicious pork sandwhiches”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have been here twice now, purely to grab a roast pork sandwich on the run. They are delicious and definitely shouldn't be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Octomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A house made of straw with pig sausages!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

An excellent spot to pick up gourmet treats and here stores of how pigs were treated like kings before being made into sausages!

Come in during the week for lunch, be early, for delicious hot meat sandwiches washed down with local beer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atomic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wellington's Special Secret”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'm not going into details about what we ate - it's all a blur of delight! The weather was cold and blustery, the welcome was warm and homely, the food was simply magnificent. Big Bad Wolf is inexpensive (for fine dining) and discreet, quiet and simple. The decor doesn't overwhelm the menu and there's a sense of pride in the quality of food from the waiting staff and the kitchen. They're dying to please you and they succeed.

If you're in this marvellous little capital of cuisine, take your friends to dinner here. You'll love it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bad Wolf also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing