We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pork Sandwich, Thanks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Bad Wolf - CLOSED

Big Bad Wolf
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Big Bad Wolf is a unique Wellington food experience, right in the heart of the CBD. We are Wellington's first dedicated charcuterie, making all our charcuterie products in an open to view kitchen at 262 Wakefield St. There are many ways to experience the wolf; either take home from our shop, or enjoy our relaxed bistro dining and let our chefs make you something special. Bon Appetit.Open hours: Tue&Wed 9am-3pm, Thu&Fri 9am-late, Sat 10am-late, Sun 10am-3pm, Mon closed.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pork Sandwich, Thanks.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Visited Big Bad Wolf for a light lunch. Their pork sandwiches are legit, and not badly priced at $9.

With only two staff on out front and a few orders to complete, we didn't get our coffees until after we finished our sandwiches. However, I'm sure that wouldn't usually be the case.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stumbled into the Big Bad Wolf on a windy wet Wellington night looking for a meal and we are so glad we did. Our dinner was amazing, my 'non foody' husband's eyes lit up when he tasted his meal. Great Service, quirky 'butcher shop' decor. Dessert and coffee were also fantastic. We went with the two courses for $50. Definitely want to return on our next visit to Wellington!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food but somewhat expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were a group of friends out to eat before going to the theatre. We all had the $50 two-course set menu. Likes: friendly, efficient service; excellent entrees and mains (the pork fillet in mole sauce was very good indeed); good wine list. Dislikes: rather high price (I wouldn't say this restaurant represents very good value); small size of accompanying vegetable servings (come on guys, potatoes aren't THAT expensive). 8/10.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PacificBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sausages to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Get their sausages, you won't regret it! I'm looking forward to going here for brunch soon, if their sausages are any indication it will be absolutely amazing!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarahrosebowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Wonderfully different French with Kiwi twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This charcuterie (which offers a unique range of its own sausages, meats, terrines and pates all made on the premises) also offers dinner 3 nights a week. Either a la carte or a "set menu" which simply means you get 3 courses from any part of the menu for $60. The price is a bargain. Serving size is moderate but the food is superb. The beef comes with a paua (NZ abalone) sausage which showcases the Kiwi twist to this, as with most, of the dishes. The wine list is a small but select offering of small NZ winemakers at very reasonable prices. The service is highly professional at an international standard. Mind you, our waiter turned out to be from Venice. BBW is a little known Wellington treasure. With only a handful of tables it is wise to book.

Helpful?
Thank Thorndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bad Wolf also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing