We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating staff, great food, great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trade Kitchen

Trade Kitchen
Ranked #399 of 904 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very accommodating staff, great food, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I booked a group of 18 colleagues (from 3 countries) for dinner at the Trade Kitchen recently while at a conference in Wellington. The restaurant had been recommended by locals. On the night, the staff had set up a table in a separate part of the restaurant for us, which was ideal. They were very accommodating - and happily allowed us to pay individually for our meals - even calculated a proportion cost for the wine, for those of us who consumed! The food was very tasty - desserts especially! We had a lovely evening and were especially grateful to the staff for being so welcoming and helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast, should have come back the next day too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We found Trade Kitchen as we headed out to breakfast on the first morning of a recent weekend trip to Wellington, and we were glad we did.
We just ordered bacon, eggs and toast but our meals were perfectly prepared and presented and the coffee was delicious.
Compared with Mojos on the waterfront the next morning, Trade Kitchen was more expensive but far better (and much cleaner) and they didn't try to keep my credit card behind the till as 'security' for a tab like the guy did at Mojos either!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Coastfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We left before ordering”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was really excited to come here, and the placed looked very nice. BUT when we came in at 10am (Hours on website said 10am was when it opened) the waitress was very short with us, gave us dirty looks and had not yet set up for the day. She cleared a table for us and threw some menus at us without a word. We left without ordering because we felt so unwelcome. I've worked in hospo, and whenever we had an opening time advertised we were expected to be set-up and ready for customers by that time - so I felt like us coming in at the opening time should not have recieved such an icy response. So disappointed..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

In a quiet part of town in the evening, so great for a dinner where you want to talk and listen. Excellent food, friendly and efficient service. Worth digging out

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always enjoy dinner at trade kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Trade Kitchen is a great place for dinner in Wellington. Always good food, recommend the fish or duck and cater really well for people with a gluten allergy. Location is great for city hotels and service is always friendly. One of my Wellington favorites.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trade Kitchen also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Trade Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing