We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick Chinese meal of high quality at a reasonable price”
Review of KC cafe

KC cafe
Ranked #246 of 930 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wellington, New zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A quick Chinese meal of high quality at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I quite often go [twice per month on average] for a quick meal at KC Cafe. The food is of excellent value, is authentic and of a high standard. The setting is basic and not one for a romantic night out but it's fine for couples or a group of up to 6 [because of table settings in a limited space] who are out for a good quick meal. The only drawback for me is that there is one particlar woman who is very abrubt and never has a pleasant demeanour. In fact, when they do catch your eye, the chefs tend to smile more than the waiting staff. Having said that, it's still worth a visit if good Chinese food is all you are after.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phuketin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reminds me of a traditional Hong Kong Style Cafe and with the staff to back that ambience up!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

When I first went in, I thought I was in Hong Kong. With the lady at the counter screaming orders at the cooks and almost screaming at you only because the kitchen's loud and she can't hear herself speak.

Went in looking for a table of 5 at midday, there weren't any seats so we decided to go some place else. Lady at the counter was extremely sharp and she ran out and dragged us back into the restaurant (exaggerated) :D, but she did stopped us from leaving and told us that she can get us a table within 5 mins and to place our orders in the meantime.

What they did wasn't a bad thing, it's just cultural differences, which I'm used to because I've got relatives in HK and I travel there quite often.

We had Dumpling Soup, Spicy Beef Tripe, Braised Beef Tendons and Braised Beef Brisket. All served with Rice. They were ALL good! Meltingly tender, and the rich sauce goes extremely well with the plain white rice!

That's comfort food served in an atmosphere that reminded me of where my family's from!

Just stay away from the Mee Goreng.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhsiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's for the food”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Successful restaurant owners will agree – places thrive or fail on their service. Get service wrong and you’re dead.

KC Café manages to plumb even greater depths. There is no service to speak of, but for staff who, to judge from their demeanour and behaviour, are pretty ambivalent about customers at best and rather dislike them in general.

BUT, none of this matters. KC Café is consistently and always full to the gunwales. Why? It’s the food. An extensive menu of good food. Genuinely nice, interesting, authentic, delivered fast despite the crowds of people and excellent value for money.

It’s interesting to sit by the window onto the street and look at would-be diners walking past. The well-heeled and aristocratic glance in and hurry along, possibly put off by the decor which is some way past its use by date. What they fail to see is that the tables are packed with happy customers, many Asian, obviously relishing their experience. They’re not there to be seen. They’re there to be fed in a way that few other cafes in Wellington can match.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Good and Cheap Cantonese food on Courtney Place”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

All your basic cafe style chinese food - I have been about 6 times in the past 3 months - really enjoy their 'Wonton Mee Dry" at $11.50 - their BBQ meats are also very good.

In summer get a table on the edge of the footpath and watch the world wonder on by

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-traveller-PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic food, place is very clean, the lady at the counter is NOT customer focused, but the food is amazing!! Would def go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to KC cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing