We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere and excellent food”

Portlander Bar & Grill
Ranked #36 of 908 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In a relaxing and friendly environment we invite our guests to revel in all the freshness and goodness our little slice of the world provides. PORTLANDER Nestled in a spot where land meets sea, the Portlander is a unique take on the grill house concept - one which is local, seasonal, cultivated... and just a little bit wild. We're about superb cuts of meat, prepared to perfection and finished in style. Bloody rare and rather well done - it's the ideal place to eat meat and greet. PORTLANDER is the proud winner of 'BEST RESTAURANT' at the Hospitality New Zealand Awards for Excellence 2015
Honolulu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and excellent food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

One would not expect to find such an excellent restaurant in a hotel chain, but the Portlander is just that! They have a great menu that certainly highlights the cuisine of the region.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    115
    36
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“such a shame”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

long wait.
very very average food - chips cold, steaks not cooked to the order.
tables far too small.
at best a 3/4 hotel restaurant and not a restaurant in its own right - get a decent chef & team and it could be something.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“good astmosphere”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

as a in house guest I found this very handy and a good place to dine, did feel it was a bit on the pricy side, but still worth a go. The staff were helpful and friendly especially the tall guy. Did like the option of wine glass serve size. Certainly did not leave hungry or disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Last Minute Choice”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were staying at the hotel and it was pouring down outside so we decided to see if we could get in here. They were busy (Saturday night) and we had to wait about 10 minutes at the bar. At our table we were served by a young Italian guy (sorry can't remember your name) and he was great. very attentive and cheerful without being overbearing. Food was very good and the Steak - sensational. Cooked to Med/Rare to perfection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy with great atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Guy who was waiting the tables one evening was very friendly and happy, which we appreciated. Food was great and good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portlander Bar & Grill also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Portlander Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing