We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Atrium Wellington
Nearby Hotels
$189
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$132
$117
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$181
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$143
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$167
$161
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
51
85
86
52
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
85
86
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjames cook hotelbedroom apartmentquieter roomlambton quaywashing machinepool and gymserviced dailyreception staff areself cateringcooking facilitiesthese apartmentscable carlounge areacentral wellingtonhandy locationbed was very comfortablewithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 298 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel models itself as a four staff apartment. There are too many things missing to warrant this rating including extra bedding and electric blankets in the middle of a cold Wellington winter, dirty microwave, batteries in remote control missing etc. The noise of the wind on the cable car brakes plus that of the motorway made for a disturbed sleep. On the plus side, the location was good and the gym downstairs was an added bonus. We have stayed here twice and our tips / feedback were noticed and suitably ignored. Not a bad place but not worth the room rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on eighth floor quieter than those on lower levels. Motorway noise might be an issue. Try to get a room facing the Terrace and not the motorway.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We rented a two room apartment 6E. Kitchenette was good, staff were good, beds were fine, but that was about it for positives. Very run down apartment. Paint chips on all walls, and heaps of paint off all the walls and ceiling in the bathroom. Mold and rot in bathroom (have a nice photo). Someone had had a go at painting the ceiling throughout, but must have been a child as only done one quick coat that was see-through. There had been a repair on the ranch slider doorframe, and the timber had never been painted - just a bare piece of grubby 3x2 timber right along the base. Room was dark. One kitchen light out, and other very dim (low watt) bulbs in lounge. 4 lights - 4 different wattage's. One small 3 seater couch only (for four guests?) that had some very suspicious looking stains on it. Not even one cheap picture on any walls making it very dull. Has a busy street on one side, and a motorway on the other so don't expect peace if you are a light sleeper. Very hard to find a park in front of hotel. The room rates about a 2 star but only because of the kitchen.

Room Tip: Don't go anywhere near 6E!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Good for a boys weekend but a bit basic and in need of a renovation. Have stayed in better places for less. Good location and easy access from motorway. Balcony is a bonus. Has basic catering facilities. Went to use the pool at 4pm on Saturday but it closed at 3pm!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Normally I research very carefully before booking accommodation. I slipped up terribly on this occasion. I will not stay here again nor recommend. Two positives though, check-in was handled efficiently and location was good. We were disappointed with our room 1A. Here's why. First on closing the curtains (gently) the rod itself dropped off the wall. I would say it has been broken for some time and just propped back up. The bathroom tiles were grubby, particularly the grouting (look behind the door people). The bed sheet, if it was supposed to be white, it wasn't (had a grubby look about it). Crispy new linen required for sure. The bed itself was soft and quite comfy. The ceiling water sprinkler outer covering was missing. But worst of all, the only couch had two significant rips/tears and appeared grubby (see pics). Overall the decor was dreadful. My recommendation people is to search again for better value. This hotel was not good value at all.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank lo33aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This is an older hotel, it is noticeable by the chipped paint in some areas and generally is a little run down. Despite this, we enjoyed our staff here and wouldn't fault it except for a couple of minor things. The service was great, helpful and friendly. The first thing you notice when you enter your room is the cleanliness, it smells lovely and clean and you can see a lot of effort has been put into making the room clean and welcoming. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom apartments with four adults and one child. We were provided a fold-out bed at an additional cost. The beds were comfortable, there was a fully equiped kitchen which was helpful and plenty of room for four adults. The bathroom was clean but you can tell it is old. We checked the reviews on here before staying at this hotel and saw that a few people had commented on the noise. I requested one of the 2 bedroom apartments on the city side (away from the motorway) and the only complaint would be a police car driving past with a loud siren on one of the nights but other than that it wasn't very noisy and we all had a good sleep. The room can get a little cold during winter but they provide sufficient heating so if you have that going by the afternoon it is lovely and warm by the evening. The only complaint I'd have is a strange smell that seemed to be in the hallway, maybe cooking smells?? It wasn't unbearable though just noticeable. It is located on The Terrace with a short walk (via the James Cook lift) to the shops so in a good location. At an extra charge you can reserve a car park in their secure undercover car park. Overall this was a nice hotel, very clean and tidy but maybe a little overpriced. I would recommend to others though if you can get a good deal on a room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the city side (away from the motorway) seem quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Becz-Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews