We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quest Atrium Wellington
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very small rooms with a nasty odour. Good location but very overpriced. The pool was the best part!! Staff at reception were overwhelmed with requests. Would not recommend this hotel. Certainly not up to Quest standard.

Room Tip: I wouldn't return
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Wendy F, thanks for your feedback. You stayed in one of our studio apartments, which is our smallest room type, we do have larger studios and 1 and 2 beds available. We were indeed very busy during your stay, as was the whole of Wellington as it was during the Wearable Arts season. I'm not sure if you were here for WOW, but that does affect city hotel availability, which has an impact on room rates. Our rates are very competitive in the Wellington market, especially as all our rooms are self contained apartments with cooking and laundry facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 286 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I came for the WOW weekend with my mother and 2 sisters in a 2 bedroom apartment. I was worried about the apartment from some of the reviews I read but was pleasantly surprised at how great the accommodation was. I think people have to realise they are in the middle of the city. We were not on the motorway side so it was quiet ( I had just stayed at an apartment on the Gold Coast which had a lot of street noise as would be expected). The staff were friendly and when we asked for another bowl they were quick to bring one to the room. I would definitely stay here again.On the atrium side my mother said the automatic light sensor was annoying through the blinds but she said it was not a huge problem.

Room Tip: Higher floors. We were on level 7 on the non motorway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Joanne, Thanks for your lovely feedback and positive words. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Location was excellent being in central city and handy walking distance to Te Papa, cable car and Wearable Arts Awards which was the purpose of our visit.
Apartment was nice and tidy and well laid-out. Friendly staff.
Pity the sauna/spa was part of the gym complex next door as teenage grand-daughter wasn't comfortable to use in this situation.

Room Tip: Adult family unit was ideal particularly the lay out and view of Wellington hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I am glad you had a good stay with us, and enjoyed your apartment. We look forward to hosting you again when you return to Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location of the Quest is fine but the room we had was not - we overlooked a busy motorway which was really noisy, our bed was like a camping ground stretcher and the couch that was a pull out sofa was collapsing in on itself so you were left sitting on the edge of the couch digging into your legs - after one night of terrible sleep I ventured down to ask to move and was told that there was nothing available, even though the receptionist was nearly hidden due to all the returned room keys sitting on her desk! when I asked again for her to look she said that there were two rooms to choose from - one overlooking the motorway again, and the other overlooking The Terrace but she could not guarantee that the bed would be any better! fortunately for us, it was - so when booking this hotel, make sure you ask to have a room away from the motorway and check the bed first!!

Room Tip: Avoid the side of the hotel that overlooks the motorway!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi, thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations, but as you say, we were able to move you to a more suitable room. The motorway can be a bit noisy during peak traffic times, but on the positive side, being so close we are only seconds away from a quick entry or exit to the CBD, and little chance for visitors to get lost in the city. Unfortunately your original room had one of our last sofa beds, and we have a replacement on order and no longer have this kind of couch because, as you noticed, they are not the most comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The only good thing about my stay was the day I checked out, the Quest Atrium should be a back packers over priced, poor service, smelly, tired décor, half the rooms are rented out full time to students so a mix of cooking smells wafting around the building trapped in the enclosed atrium.
I wont be staying again, but if your easily pleased then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

hi, thanks for your feedback. Your stay did coincide with a very busy time for us over the Wearable Arts period, so the staff were quite busy. I'd like to mention that we do not do long term rentals, especially not to students, but our building is mixed use with some permanent residents, and we have taken up the issue of building smells and the décor with the Building Manager. Our Quest rooms are on a regular refurbishment cycle, but I apologise if your stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great location in regards to proximity to Central city. Main complaint, and reason why I wouldn't go back there was that our room smelt quite badly of stale smoke, clearly the " no smoking" signs and $100 fines if caught smoking are not enough to deter. Also the drain in our bathroom was very smelly too. If wasn't for the smells, very good facilities for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi Thanks for your feedback. I apologise for the smell in your room, and we have taken it up with the previous occupant, but unfortunately we were fully booked so did not have the opportunity to air the room out as we usually do when there is a problem. I have also had our maintenance team attend to the drain, and can only apologise that our house keeping team did not pick up on it at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have just returned from staying at the Atrium Quest and would recommend it. Great location and everything you want in the bed sit rooms, friendly staff who can answer questions about everything close by.

Room Tip: Quiet and didn't hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beerlady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
questatrium, Owner at Quest Atrium Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 46 in Wellington
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest On The Terrace
Quest On The Terrace
#20 of 54 in Wellington
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Atrium Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Atrium Wellington

Address: 154 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $85 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Atrium Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Atrium serviced apartments are situated at 154 The Terrace, one of Wellington's best Central City locations. The apartments are within easy access of Lambton Quay, Parliament, boutique shopping, cafes, restaurants, and theaters. Wellington's waterfront is within walking distance, as is Te Papa Museum, Victoria University, Westpac Stadium and the Botanical Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Atrium Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Atrium Wellington Hotel Wellington
Quest Atrium Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing