We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do not recommend this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quest On The Terrace
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We got in late at night and was leaving early the next morning to catch the Ferry to Picton.
Thank goodness. We had a 2 Bedroom Apartment for 2 couples. It was Bad. The Apartment was tiny. It was veryTired and unclean. We couldn't use the dishwasher as it had mould in it and stunk. At least the sheets were clean. Parking was on the street or an unsecure private street parking at the back of the Hotel. We paid the same for this as any of the other lovely Apartments we stayed at across New Zealand. Absolutely No comparison.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackiSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

The hotel was in a good location and wasn't bad value. The bedrooms were a little small and not as clean as I would have expected. Staff were friendly and helpful for the most part and assisted when I asked for the toaster to be replaced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huggie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The quality of this premises was completely substandard. It was like staying in a cheap backpackers out the back of a third world city. My room smelt, the linen was dirty, the door handle was coming off, the kettle leaked into the electric base, and air vent in the bathroom looked as if it had not been cleaned since the Great War. So, do not waste your time and money staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Our stay at The Quest in the Terrace in Wellington was a revelation in bad hotel room design, crap sound proofing and what happens when there is bugger all maintainence & care given to the place.

You know the old expression, "not enough room to swing a dead cat"? Well that was 100% on the mark when it came to the bathroom in our apartment at the place. Literally, it was barely 110 CM wide, a narrow slot which you had to move sideways and turn carefully. Utterly ridiculous considering how much space was left in the apartment. Whoever planned the interior of that room needs to be kicked in the crotch as it was just total crap.

Next was the uncomfortable bed and the pathetic drapes that let in all the light & noise from the very busy street below which made getting a good nights impossible.

The room was clean and had all the amenities such as washing machine, cooker microwave etc but all those creature comforts amount to bugger all when you can't sleep at night.

The place needs a majoy refit/overhaul as well as the immediate removal of the 4 star qual NZ qual mark.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talwyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I will try not to stay here again!

Although the staff were friendly and very helpful, there are many things wrong with this place.

The room was sorely in need of a refurb. The table was cracked, marked and laminate was peeling off. There were cracks in the floor tiles and everything had an air of being worn out. it was very clean however and the free breakfast, tea/coffee, washing powder etc were good.

The apartment was very strangely laid out - there were steps up and down into the rooms which seemed very uneccessary and caused major trip hazards at night (my father twisted his ankle). There was a big empty space near the kitchen area but the main bedroom had no room for a case - may parents had to use this area instead. The lounge was cramped and could have really done with an armchair, not just one sofa for us all to cram onto.

My biggest issue was with the parking. The route in was so tight that it was impossible to reach our parking space without reversing several times. On the way out, there was a small concrete wall which was not able to be seen when driving downhill - we hit this and have lost our excess on our hire car ($1000 +gst) - not happy at all. Especially considering the amount of scrapes indicates that many others have done this and yet there are no warning signs.

This is the first serviced apartment we have stayed in without a 24hr reception. This was annoying as there was noone to ask questions of after 8pm or to let you into the car park (a key or something would have been nice!).

So overall, dangerous parking, very worn furnishings, odd/hazardous layout, no lift access to car parking (have to negotiate stairs with all your luggage through an area which is clearly the staff smoking area by all the fag butts on the ground) and no 24hr reception means that I will look elsewhere next time I stay in Wellington.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froozely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

While my friends and I were out for the day $100 was stolen out of my bag. All that happened was a shift manager in track pants and the head cleaner came up and told us it wasn't the cleaners and did nothing more than talk really loudly and wake up my friends who were asleep.

Free breakfast was nothing more than toast and jam or cornflakes.

My bedroom curtains were moldy and locations was not as great as suggested.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

I travel and stay in hotels frequently... this place is hopeless. I took my wife and bunch of friends for her 40th birthday, we had several apartments between us, all equally poor. They did not have the 2bdrm we originally booked available for the 1st night, so we had to move, the bathrooms are rubbish, half the kitchen stuff is missing, cleaning poor etc etc...
DON'T STAY THERE!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest On The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest On The Terrace

Address: 120 The Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $86 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest On The Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest On The Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On The Terrace Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing