We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wild Zebra Backpackers
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place needs to be shut down and renovated properly. It was the worst hostel of our holiday and this is why:
1) The tiny shower cubicles had no fans so it became a heat box.
2) They had started renovating two floors... and then stopped. So there is rubbish and half pulled up carpet everywhere.
3) Rooms were shabby and we weren't given a sheet.
4) They had 20 people booked in and 250 rooms and yet they put a girl into our room at 4am, obviously drunk, who snored like an absolute steam train.

However, the staff were friendly and the location was good but even then.. Not worth it. There are plenty more hostels in Wellington worth your money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzo0o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is grim, it smells, it's noisy, it leaks, bad service. I read some bad reviews and thought I'd give it the benefit of the doubt, mistake. Location is good though so if you don't mind smelly sheets, the sound of people puking and stoners trying to find your reservation for 20 mins when you arrive go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rachetb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in a shared dorm room and from first glance outside it looked funky and fresh. Hopes faded inside though as the receptionist didn't look overly happy at all and, upon arriving in the room, were dismayed at the state of the carpet - stained, smelly and dust / rubbish everywhere! Carpet was never hoovered all week either. Lounge area is big but messy (not all the hostel's fault though) and didn't seem to be many people there apart from people that worked there and even overheard them saying they were "sick of this place". Shower and toilet areas were not the cleanest although the shower did remain warm.

Wi fi barely works too, even though only had an hour's credit. Very slow and couldn't connect to it at first!

The Sky tv they have is great although the box is in the bar so have to watch what they watch. Should have separate boxes really.

No real atmosphere inside at all apart from a bad one really. Badly needs to close and refurbish everything properly to be honest. And the mobile website said 100 bucks a week and wasn't true unless staying for 6 months or more.

As for the spa / sauna, never tried it as was 25 bucks for an hour! No chance!

Could have been so much better, but falls flat on its face. Needs sorting out!!

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank Metallimaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed at this backpackers with a large sports group and it was terrible. Rooms were shabby and smelly. The beds had a bottom sheet and a duvet but nothing else, and these did not look that clean. The lock on the door was broken. Our room was right next to the toilets and showers so was very noisy with water flushing and dripping all night. Also the noise from other guests and people from the bars surrounding the area were making a lot of noise.

Although the accommodation is in a backpackers in the central city, it's proximity to town is the only good thing. After going out for dinner we came back to find the police outside and arresting someone that clearly knew the managers of the hostel. And furthermore when we went upstairs to our room we saw some women with very little clothing who looked a bit shifty....

The kitchen upstairs is rather untidy and not that clean but the lounge is a good place for tourists to chill.

Would not stay here again. Simple as that.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the toilets or showers if you want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kiwitravelgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie N, Public Relations Manager at Wild Zebra Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Hi Kiwitravelgirl22, We really appreciate your honest opinion. We were approach by Swimming Tournament Organsiser for 200 beds and you were one of the group. We did told them that we will not be able to have all of you staying with us as this will cause lack of person service to the guest. As they were not able to find anywhere else for 200beds. They told us that they will accept the service, hence we accepted the bookings. All beds costs have been reduce and discounted. We only provide fitted sheet and duvet only. We do not provide flat sheet as we are only backpackers and our rates are much cheaper than motels and hotels. We will contact the organizer and inform them about your unsatisfactory stay. Since you do not provide a name it is going to be hard for them to trace you. We will leave that to them to get hold of you.
Police have rights to enquire about anybody staying with us and in the hospitality industry these are common practice. There was no one arrested it was only enquiry. We cannot help if guest wear very little clothing. If they were nude we can advice the guest or call the police. The kitchen was mess up by the sports group and they did not clean after their use. The kitchen is clean 3 times a day which are after breakfast, lunch and closing. If in between it gets messy it is the responsibility of the guest who uses them to clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent 4 days at the Wellywood backpackers and my time there was great. The employees were really nice and very helpful. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. and i do not know what else to say, but i need a minimum of 200 characters...i think i have enough...yea, that will do

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in a lot of hostels over the last 4 months as doing a round the world trip- and this is the first time I've felt strongly enough to write on trip advisor.unfortunately we had no other option but to stay here as everywhere else was booked out.it was overpriced for what we got- a dirty room. Hadn't been cleaned too much, the toilets and showers were pretty disgusting also,one day there was vomit in the shower- which hadn't been cleaned. The showers arnt separate from the male showers and they are on the corridor. Anyway- u can get passed that- the thing that made me write on this(which I stated I never do and wouldn't have written on this if it hadn't happened) was when checkin out- having stayed 4 nights in total,we slept in and didnt check out until 11am- we didn't get our $30 key deposit back. The English girl at the front desk had the worst attitude I've ever come across. I said I didn't hear anybody knocking as she said she did.housekeepin weren't even knocking and they were in the room next door 'cleaning' when we checked out- so it wouldn't have caused any delay us being a bit late. After stayin for 4 nights paying far too much for what we got I thought the least they could do is give us our $30 back,for the sake of 1 hour. Tip to the management- have a chat to the English girl at the front desk about her manners!! Courtesy goes a long way.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniesoupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie N, Public Relations Manager at Wild Zebra Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Anne Patricia and Michael Thomas staying in Room320. I appreciate the review you have provide to us through trip advisor. The reason why I have to put your name as there guest like you who do not provide accurate information. The English girl in the reception only following what she is asked to do. It is clearly stated that in the lift and everywhere the check out time is 10am. There is no excuse for you to stay longer, we usually and all the other backpackers and motels / hotels will have charged you one day payment which is $72 your room rate in Wellywood but we only offset your key deposit money of $30 and waived $42. You have stated that staying in Wellywood, "$5 would b too much to stay here”

I understand that you do not get back your deposit money back and properly annoyed with the systems. You will never find any where in New Zealand for you and your partner to stay in a double bedroom for $5. If you do I will let you stay in our hostel free for the whole year. You also indicated that this is the first time you have felt strong enough to write on trip advisor. We would have accepted your review more seriously if you have written your name and your finding accurately to trip advisor.

Guest like you who do not get their way around, they start abusing the tripadviser system and giving wrong information. We would appreciated and understand if you have told the true instead writing this way to ventilate feelings is not appreciate.

In term of cleanliness, we have regular housekeeping staffs cleaning the toilet. You should also understand we do not get busy unless there is an event in Wellington. Unfortunately the day you have stayed with us fall into the event day. We are strict with our policy and will continue with them for other guest that want to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If I had read every review below BEFORE checking into this hostel I might have thought that the people reviewing it might have experienced a bad moment when the staff is too new or the bathrooms were just too busy to be spotless.Unfortunately I have not seen these comments before walking in,too tired from driving to even think of looking at the place first....BIG MISTAKE.Starting from cleanliness of the rooms(despite the alcohol ban in the rooms we found at least 2 beer bottle lids and one from vodka under the beds) , the smell of bedsheets, the state of the bathrooms and toilets, followed by loud party dance music right under our room until very late at night (not ideal after a day of driving), the state of the kitchen/lounge/games area, kids (resident?) running wild all around, finishing with the number of the beds in the so-called 5 bed dorm (a double bottom bunk with one bedsheet counts as two dorm beds without notifying those checking in, or was the sofa without bedsheets and blankets supposed to be the alternative 5th bed?) Needs some serious cleaning and possibly a revision of the house rules

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justmoving158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 53 in Wellington
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
0.2 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#13 of 53 in Wellington
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Wellington Backpackers
Base Wellington Backpackers
#16 of 53 in Wellington
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Apartment Hotel
Liberty Apartment Hotel
#21 of 53 in Wellington
8 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellington - World Wide Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Zebra Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Zebra Backpackers

Address: 58 Tory Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Wellywood Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $16 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Wild Zebra Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellywood Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing