We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty kitchen and strict policies in response”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Dirty kitchen and strict policies in response”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were decent and the bathroom was okay. More importantly, the kitchen was very small and filthy as a result of being overcrowded. Management responded by making you check out dishes, cutlery, and food labels at reception for a $10 deposit. This was an unnecessary pain on guests, and there were still dirty dishes everywhere. If the facilities were updated, it might be a nicer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
We value any comments made by our customers. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as you should have. We unfortunately have had some people not cleaning their dishes. We do supply everything but cutlery and crockery within our kitchen, this is to ensure it is kept clean and we have enough for every guest within the backpackers. We have a $10 deposit at reception which is refundable once it is brought back to us, this has worked well for us but we certainly value your opinion so thank you. I am sorry that you feel this procedure does not work. I will talk to the staff to see if we can provide a better solution. Food labels are supplied in the kitchen along with pens for labeling your food. We also have more at our reception desk, we could have ran out in the kitchen so sorry about that. I have got the staff doing more regular checks within the kitchen to ensure its to a high standard of cleanliness. I hope the next time you are here we impress you! Kindest regards, Josie from the Cambridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    297
    125
    41
    27
See reviews for
66
143
215
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good location for central Wellington. The staff was friendly, and the place was clean enough, but common spaces like the shared kitchen could have been cleaner. It has a pub atmosphere, so if that's your thing you'll love it (cheap drinks at the bar, lively night scene) but if you are wanting to have a good night's sleep bring ear plugs, since it can stay very noisy late at night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timaru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

stayed at the Cambridge for the weekend rugby,if you want good pub atmosphere with tidy rooms at a good price then this is the place,great discount on drinks great bar,and amazing staff from desk to service,its always a pleasure to stay there. looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: i stay for a fun weekend so a bit of noise wouldn't worry me,but any mid city is noisy unless th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your great review!

We look forward to seeing you again
Cambridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very central clean comfortable. Will stay again a bit old but very clean. Different sorts of prices and rooms. Had a roast very good value for money. Staff are great and very helpful.The service in the rooms is done every day nice warm homely hotel...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
HI there,

Thank you for your review

We also feel its a very homely hotel like you said so thank you!
It was established in 1883, so has an older feel but up to date.
Were glad you enjoyed our roast dinner! its served every Sunday, they are very popular for only $13.90!

Hope to see you again in the future
Kindest regards
Josie
Cambridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The cambridge hotel is a good location for every visitor in Wellington: convenient to go to every attraction and eating or shopping place. If the kitchen could be improved, more tidy and organized, it would be better place to recommend. P.S.: It will be very very very noisy at night.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room is very important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Danni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends for a birthday. Hostel is centrally located. We had a 4 bed dorm with a shared bathroom...although given the time of year the hostel was quiet and I never actually saw anyone else!!

The room was relatively clean and tidy, although the mattresses are in need of updating and were quite uncomfortable. The room had basic facilities, including a sink, fridge and TV ...although the signal was not great and you couldn't see the TV from some of the beds!

The hostel is above a pub and Friday/Saturday nights do get quite noisy.

Can well recommend the breakfast in the pub....great value for money and very tasty.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lucylincoln86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Have stayed here twice over the past week mainly to catch early morning overseas flights and late night returns. Find the place very convenient and not far from the airport, nice and clean and room facilities for the price more than adequate. No reason why we will not continue to use the Cambridge as a stopping off point.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bellathom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We look forward to seeing you again
Cambridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,474 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
582 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Property: The Cambridge Hotel
Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing