We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop over” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hi We had a short stopover in Wellington with our two children. We shared a room with an ensuite. Everything was clean and tidy and relatively quiet. Great location. Breakfast great value for money. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    293
    124
    41
    26
See reviews for
64
142
213
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed at the Cambridge hotel recently during a trip over to Wellington. Overall it was a very positive experience, the room was sizeable, clean and very good value. As an added bonus they had Sky TV which was great for watching the FA Cup! The hotel staff were all really friendly and the building is quite grand with a central location just minutes from the town centre. We also had a great fry-up breakfast in the bar before leaving! It was a little noisy at times, but not annoyingly so, and I would recommend the Cambridge wholeheartedly for those on a budget. If noise is an issue for you, then request the top floor away from the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TourLeaderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Cambridge Hotel a couple of times now.

As far as hotels go, it's definitely on the lower end of the spectrum in terms of facilities, but it's still well-maintained and clean. However, it's cheap for what you get. I use the Cambridge as an affordable way of getting a decent private room to myself when in Wellington. In this regard it's actually cheaper than private rooms at most backpackers in Wellington, and I'd say it's a step above what a backpackers has to offer.

The shared bathrooms are of a high quality.

Breakfast is good, and cheap!

There is a decent shared kitchen facility, however it is poorly stocked for cutlery and plates - I basically had to provide my own.

Major gripe is that the rooms can get noisy at night. It's on a main street and above a bar, so I guess that's to be expected - but the walls seem pretty thin too!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the street are quieter - request one of these if you want to sleep well witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TomWilkinson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, its has been very helpful.

I have ensured all staff make it clear to our customers that cutlery & plates are available to hire for $10 deposit at reception, we do however don't take a deposit for persons only using for a night. This keeps our kitchen clean, tidy and we have enough for everyone.

We hope to see you again and ensure your stay is even better next time

Kindest regards,
Cambridge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Such a great location as it's basically right in the middle of town! Walking distance to a million bars and restaurants, as well as Mount Victoria, Te Papa and the waterfront. The staff were so nice! They would go completely out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible and they all have a wicked sense of humour. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank saldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!
We look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,
Cambridge reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights for a course in Wellington hospital. Centre of town so easy access to food and under 30 minutes walk to the hospital, busses available. Friendly staff, great $3 eggs on toast breaky. Stayed in a single room with shared bathroom facilities. Small and basic but clean and enough for needs. Had tea/coffee, mini fridge, TV, sink/mirror, towel. Great place when on a budget. Earplugs helpful over the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hui_Chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed at The Cambridge Hotel on five occasions now, over four years and have found it cheap, clean, comfortable and so convenient. On three occasions i accompanied my sons school group and used the kitchen facilities which were always easy to access. I have booked three times a room with ensuite, and twice a shared room, and have never found accessing the bathroom a problem. Yes, sometimes the Hotel is noisy at night because of it's pub, but it's no noisier than staying in accommodation in Courtney Place. I highly recommend The Cambridge if you are looking for cheap, comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Sunday nights are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Therese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times now. Both times have been boys trips away. The room was a single with a shared bathroom.. It has a bed and sky sports, what more do you need? The shared bathrooms are modern and very clean. Location is brilliant and the pub downstairs isn't bad either!

If you want a cheap, clean and central location to rest your head and explore from then the Cambridge is perfect.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KiwiJPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.6 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Property: The Cambridge Hotel
Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing