We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cambridge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$118
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
88 Wallace Court(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$82
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$212
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$106
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Fitness center
West Plaza Hotel(Wellington)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$114
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$67
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohtel(Wellington)
$207
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
180
315
131
44
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
315
131
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtney placeshared bathroomgreat locationsingle roomcommunal kitchenbudget hotela great place to staycourtenay placesky tvcity centreenjoyed my stayte papawould stay againnew zealandcentral wellingtonbackpackersfacilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 698 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I found the Cambridge hotel a great place to stay, it was convenient to all of Wellingtons major attractions like Courtney place and te papa, the backpackers was comfortable and the hotel has great history

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

stayed two days in a 4-bed-dorm, room 408.
the room:
+ clean
+ good temperature, not two warm
+ door entry via card, but
- very loud to close from the outside --> loud at night
- very dark, windows in 3m height, facing the house wall of the next building
- only two electrical inlets
- not even a simple shelf to but some thinks

the common room:
+ clean
+ TV
+ big kitchen
- no basic spices provided, like salt and pepper
- no free tee and surgar (normaly standard in bbh hostels)
- dishes and cutlery only in return of a 10NZD deposit
- video monitoring?!
- toaster not working

mismiscellaneouscelanious:
- very unfriendly receiption
- you won't be shown arround, discover it by yourself

Conclusion:
I was disappointed from the rating and the name hotel. I was already traveling through NZ for half a year and stayed in very different hostels, but I never experienced such a cold atmosphere like this. Even the can opener is chained to the wall. I more feels like they susspect you all the time.
Of cause there are may some more positive things I couldn't realize yet or they are not worth mentioning. Like I've seen good and cheap specials from the internal restaurant advertsed everywhere. Anyway thats not a real alternative for a traveler who is short of money. The hotel is situated quite close to the city and so on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I3ademeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Older property with small roooms. Excellent Sony tv and channel selection. Kitchen was very useful. Noisy at times but great value...suits single travellers...clean...restaurant and bar were good with fair prices. Staff very friendly. Cheap laundry. Internet was sporadic.

Room Tip: Rooms facing street were the noisiest...
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank NickC1967_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

if you just want a room and do not want to pay much this is fine, BUT: the room was not very clean, the carpet felt sticky, the interior was very, very outdated, there was no airco so you had to open a window, which made a terrible noice because of the wind.The street was also not very likable.
Positive things: nice staff, not far from the center, good bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luzUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MightyCambridge, Front Office Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.
I am disappointed that you did not find your stay entirely enjoyable.
Our decor is currently undergoing a re vamp.

Regards,

Jess

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service was quick and friendly. We were a large group and they accomodated our many demands really well. The dorms were dorms, nothing special, with shelves made it easier to store a few things. Only thing, doors are heavy, good soundproof but make a loud noise if carelessly closed. But that happens when you're in a dorm.

The showers hot, and overall clean and tidy. The bar was good to talk to locals, older, working class, not a suits joint which had it pluses, must be one of the last pubs in central Wellington to cater to this crowd, sports tv, unpretentious and could sit on a beer whiling away the day reading the paper.

It was quiet considering how close you are to the hotspots. The time we stayed a sports team was in, one day it got rowdy but they, staff and guests were good about it. Kitchen was looking its age and disappointingly had no glasses or mugs. Be prepared to bring your own cutlery and dishes.

For a weekend stay, it suited us regards to location and price. No parking but outside and across the road was reasonable parking if you got up early enough 6 and 8am to beat warden.

i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntysharshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews