We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$117
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$119
$94
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$178
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveler rating
119
280
190
60
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
280
190
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuba stexpress breakfastgreat locationrooms are smallcq hotelthird floorrestaurants and shopsshort stayfree wificuba malltea and coffeeroom ratete papaan easy walkbuffet breakfastwellington citylambton quay
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 688 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was very pleased with Comfort Hotel Wellington, especially considering the low price we paid for our room. The Hotel is ideally located, within walking distance to great Wellington cafes, shops and bars. The room was clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. Overall, a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Ashlee B,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future! Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here in July with a friend and we picked it for location and because we would be going out till the early morning. It did the job for what we wanted it for, a cheap, clean room that was centrally located.

The room was small, the bathroom even smaller, for some reason we didn't have a fridge either which I thought was weird. Beds were tiny too, we had singles but they were a lot narrower than a normal single. No mirror in the room, only in the bathroom which was a hassle and the lighting was terrible, so dark in the room and the main light was right in front of the TV (which is perched on a very high shelf). Heater didn't seem to work either but the room was warm enough. Only real plus was the shower pressure which was awesome.

Staff seemed friendly enough, we had no problems when we asked for a wine glass, they were more than happy to provide one. Our swipe card didn't work when we came in afterhours, so we had to ring the bell to get them to come and open the door.

Can't comment on sleep quality as in all honesty we got in at 4am so at that point we would of missed the noise that others have commented on plus we could of slept on the floor at that point and not noticed.

If your going out at night and just need something to do the job, then this is it, but I wouldn't stay here otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Patrica B,
I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable stay with us at CQ Hotels Wellington. Our economy rooms are compact, but are definitely a good option for budget conscious travellers. It's also good to read that you were pleased with the level of service from our team.
I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon next time that you are in the Capital. Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

An affordable place to stay and an easy walk around the city. Friendly team who are really helpful. The lounge areas are comfortable and a great area to relax in to finish off a busy day.
The rooms are small but adequate and very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kja68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear kja68
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future! Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I always stay here when I visit my daughter in Wellington. I can get a good room price and it has everything I need to make my stay comfortable. The biggest bonus for me is that it is within walking distance from the airport bus. The staff are always very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Lesley M,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your continued loyalty to the hotel. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated and indeed the hotel is only couple of blocks away from the airport bus stop; a very convenient location right in the middle of Cuba Street!
We look forward to welcoming you back to CQ Hotels Wellington hotel in the near future.
Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind regards
Olivier Lacoua
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having read other reviews before booking, I was expecting a very small with an even tiner bathroom, somewhat noisy, but worth the discomfort due to the central location. Well, apparently my sister and I were blessed, as we booked a regular room, and room 223 was super spacious with a huge bathroom! :-)

Noisy, somewhat. We did ask for a room at the back of the hotel (not facing Cuba street) as per other reviewers suggestions, but we ended up right across a narrow hall from the housekeeping office, and beside the elevator...which meant that every morning we could hear doors slamming and staff dropping vacuum hoses etc. against the walls early in the morning. The elevator whirred away quietly most of the time, mostly unused between 2am - 6am. We used earplugs, which helped quite a bit. We thought we would ask to be moved to a different room because of the housekeeping noise and the front desk staff were very accommodating. We went up to look at the new room before moving everything over, and immediately declined, as the "new" room - and bathroom - was 1/2 the size...which wasn't going to work for two girls and five bags! The long and short of it: good hotel, excellent location, acceptably clean. Alas, only 30 min free wireless/day and overpriced internet to buy after that. The upside is that becoming a bit "unplugged" turned out to be a good thing :-)

Room Tip: Ask for 123, 223, or 323 as they appear to be the largest "regular" priced rooms available.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHW, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear KarenKin,
Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you found the location to your liking.
I have forwarded your feedback to our reservation department, referring to the room allocation that you described, asking them to allocate you with a room away from the lift and the housekeeping office.
Please note that WIFI is available to all our guests in the entire facility with a 30 min per day; you can also receive a complimentary access for any of your future stay with us if you are a member or join the Choice Privilege loyalty program. The reception team will assist you to join the membership.
We look forward to another opportunity to welcoming you again soon. Please contact us directly on our website and we will take care of your reservation personally.
Kind Regards
Olivier Lacoua
General manager
CQ Hotels Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews