We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live well in Wellington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Live well in Wellington”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great location and friendly, helpful staff. We had a room in the recently refurbished wing with a view of the harbour. The room was stylish and comfortable with a great King size bed; lovely bathroom and shower. The internet connection in our room was poor and very slowwww. May have been because I was connecting through my iPad but I doubt it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear MJD48,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished guestrooms and appreciated the hotels waterfront location.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the Internet connection; please rest assured I will follow this up with our provider.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    434
    152
    44
    20
See reviews for
160
547
103
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel gave us one of our best Hotel Experiences over the last 20 years. We were upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms - stunning, bed so comfortable, bathrooms brilliant, amenities 5 star. Our best compliments go to the three girls who worked the Club Lounge on the two evenings we were in house. They were outstanding in every way - being from the Hospitality Industry ourselves we were thrilled to come across such attention to detail, professionalism and also their knowledge of their environment. The Hotel Restaurant was also outstanding.
The location is brilliant - you don't need a car, wonderful restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions within walking distance. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and recommending it to others

Room Tip: If you are able to request one of the recently refurbished rooms and are allocated one you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MADAFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear MADAFK,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us; in particular the professional service delivered. Please rest assured I will pass your wonderful comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay on your next visit to the Capital City.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is decent as you would expect for a 5 star, and the location was excellent.

However, there were a couple of things that really annoyed me. The first was wifi - they wanted to charge a fortune for it! Why top hotels feel they can do this when every other place in the world will give it free I do not know. As a top tip sign up to the IHG club before going and you should get it free.

The other poor thing was check-in. We arrived at 12:30 and they said our room was not available (fair enough as check in is officially 3) but they would ring the maids to get it done ASAP and then phone our mobile when it was ready. We went to lunch and waited for the call. No call arrived and we went back at 2:45 to enquire and it still wasn't ready. They swapped us in to another room at this point, but really I would expect much better.

Re car parking - the cheapest option at the hotel is the valet (they mention under the building on the website but that is a rip off). This is still expensive, but probably your best bet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Mark G,

Thank you for your recent stay and leaving our property a review. It is good to know that our location was suitable for your needs. Please accept my apologies however, if the charge for Wifi was a disappointment and if your check-in experience was sub par. These points that you have raised are noted and will be addressed with management to consider for improvements needed in our efforts to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton / Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I visited for a weekend just recently, and thoroughly enjoyed the location, service and total experience.
While visiting we visited the Weta workshop and Parliament buildings.
We recommend all travellers to closely look at what the Hotel Intercontinental has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanF369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear AllanF369,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback.

I am delighted you and your wife had a wonderful experience with us during your weekend stay; and had the chance to experience all our Hotel and Capital City has to offer.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for Easter and upgraded to club lounge. Was worth it for valet parking, lounge and internet. Could take one guest for free to lounge for drinks and canapés from 530 to 700. Beds very good, staff all very helpful and Newley renovated rooms excellent for hotel. Like how they have removed baths and replaced with big showers. Will stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Plumb209,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter break.

Please rest assured I will pass your lovely feedback onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another memorable stay.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We love the hotel, have a Deluxe Room, with wonderful views around Wellington. All staff extremely helpful, so we loved our stay, no complaints at all.... Big big comfy beds. Big TV..thx InterContinental Hotel....

Room Tip: Deluxe Room... 5thFloor...upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mary B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and kind words with the TripAdvisor community.

The Team and I were delighted to read your review and are pleased you had such a wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to the Capital City.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A very nice hotel. The staff was excellent and their service was incredible. They have a very good selection for their breakfasts and their restaurant was quite nice as we'll (The fish was ok but their beef was quite good). We really liked the rooms, however, the bathrooms do need some freshening up. I am quite persnickety and the black spots in the shower grout detracted from the overall experience. A great location. Many restaurants in walking distance. Our group was overall very satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetbabylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sweetbabylee,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your review and valued comments.

I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us and had the chance to experience all our Chameleon Restaurant has to offer.

I would also like to thank you for your feedback; please rest assured we have taken this on board to further improve our service.

The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to Wellington.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing