We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is very good. Right in the centre of town, so close to the harbour, the Te Papa museum, the Cable tram and lots of shops. And the InterIslander is only a few minutes away by car.
The service is great and staff are very friendly, from housekeeping, the concierge team, to the reception desk. None of the arrogance you sometimes get in a European hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean and quiet and we were very happy to use the (free) washing machines available.
The hotel has started a refurbishing project, which finishes some time next year, but we never noticed that they were working. Then again, we stayed there on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your review. The Team and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us during your visit to the Capital City; and are delighted you enjoyed the service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

From the moment we drove up to the InterContinental the Staff were amazing and helpful.
The lobby was set with a beautiful Christmas Tree and our rooms were stunning with a lovely view over the harbour with a cute little gift of a rubber duck and bath bomb.
We went the the lounge for our canapes and bubbles for dinner, but we were asked to move as a larger group was coming soon, there was no reservation sign on the table and we felt a bit unsettle after that. We were again asked if you wanted to move a table closer to the window. Would of preferred to stay in one place.
Had breakfast in the morning and really, really enjoyed it!
The bathroom was aged but the rest of the stay was Great

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber-Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Amber-Rose,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your recent stay. The Team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your gift of one of our famous InterContinental Wellington Rubber Ducks. We would also like to thank you for your feedback ; please rest assured we have taken your comments on board to further improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to "The Coolest Little Capital".

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We were up in wellington for a business function and stayed in a queen superior room. It was tastefully decorated and very comfortable . The included buffet breakfast was very tasty indeed and a cut above the usual slurry one associates with a buffet. Very attentive staff and a great night.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank medusa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay in particular the attentive service delivered by our wonderful team. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington to try out one of our newly refurbished guestrooms.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is in town centre but still nice and quiet. Very close to the Te Papa Museum and all the bars/restaurants. They do valet parking at NZ $ 30,- per night. Service at the hotel is excellent. Facilities like washingmachines and dryers are free. Rooms are spacious and well equiped. Some rooms haven't been done up yet but they too are of a high level of quality and very clean.Plenty rooms with a sea view. All in all, a great place to be when in town.

Room Tip: If you have a choise, have a room in the upper floors, they have a great (sea) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GvP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review. The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and our many hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington on your next visit to "The Coolest Little Capital".

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Apart from good location and helpful housekeeping staff bringing what was asked for with a smile, there are many aspects about our stay which were poor:
Dirty room..sills and skirtings dusty, bathroom shabby- surface peeling off bath, mouldy and grubby grout lines and very dated.
Corridors had wallpaper bubbled and peeling off. All to be upgraded for usre but prices not lowered meantime to reflect the shabbiness.
Service - indifferent or unhelpful. Chameleon restaurant buffet nice but service haughty, reception unhelpful - check in at 3.30pm when hotel not full is pathetic, especially when a request was in for early check in as had arrived in the morning (as had others flying in to Wellington). No offer to use facilities such as pool area, clubroom till room ready or upgrade to a room which was ready and available (hotel not full). Concierge fine and housekeeping staff at least smiled and were pleased to be doing their job!

Room Tip: Not level 7. Shabby and work happening for upgrade from early in the morning means not peaceful. Unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiegsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear SpeigsB

Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your insight and perception about the hotel. I am disappointed to hear you have experienced a lapse in our overall service delivery as this is an area we pride ourselves in as part of the InterContinental global brand. Positive experiences of service have been reflected in many of our other reviews. I am sorry your experience did not reflect this.

We will be sure to pass this information on to the team in aim to identify areas we can certainly improve on. Thank you also for your positive comments about the concierge and housekeeping team.

For your further information the hotel is expecting to have refurbished the higher floors over the next few months, we are currently working on level 6 and look forward to welcoming you back to experience the new rooms that will be available next year.

Once again thank you for your comments and feedback from your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in Wellington at the Intercontinental. The lobby area was very nice with a comfortable bar area. The service was excellent and we found the concierge to be very informative and helpful, actually beyond what we would have expected. Because of our schedule, we spent very little time at the hotel, however we found the wake up call service to be very good. Shortly after we received our wake up call we received a tray with juice and coffee. this was a very welcome service. We thought the location was good, but since we took a cab to dinner and the ferry, we were not sure. The only item that lowered the rating was the room. we felt that it was very dated and a number of items just did not work well. Should we return to wellington in the future we would probably not stay here.

Room Tip: Get a high floor since the hotel is on a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redinked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. The Team are pleased you enjoyed the 5 star service delivered; as this is something they pride themselves on. I am also glad you enjoyed our central location and our many hotel facilities.

I am happy to announce we are currently going through a major hotel refurbishment; scheduled to commence mid 2014. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington to experience one of our newly refurbished guestrooms.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night conference which was held at the hotel in November. Had a great stay, with the big plus being the comfortable beds! I just had one of the standard rooms but was very nice. The breakfast, conference facilities, customer service was fantastic. Only thing is its looking a bit tired in the public areas, but I believe its all being refurbished in the near future. Will look great once its all done!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The Team and I are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay and enjoyed our conferencing facilities and the service delivered. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington to experience one of our newly refurbished guestrooms.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,450 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
811 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $159 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing