We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High price, low quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High price, low quality”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

$350 for a room that was dirty, and could smell paint fumes coming from the renovations of above rooms. Woken early by the noise of those renovations.
They don't tell you they are doing work when you book with them, even via the front desk. The only time you find out is when you check in, and its too late to change.
Don't stay there!

Room Tip: Don't choose one. Try another option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear travel992013

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We genuinely appreciate you sharing your experience with regard to our current hotel refurbishment.

We are excited to be undergoing these changes and have undertaken extensive planning to reduce any impact on our guests. We have provided information to guests regarding the refurbishment work both prior to, and throughout their stay and we encourage them to contact us should they have concerns. I apologise that on this occasion you did not feel this was adequately communicated.

Once again thank you for your comments and feedback and I encourage you to look out for the new developments to InterContinental Wellington in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience our newly refurbished hotel.

Kind Regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    441
    158
    45
    20
See reviews for
169
571
108
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Point, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 nights. There is nothing not to like about the hotel. It's perfectly located for business in the city or as a travel base.
The rooms that look over the harbour are the best. I have found the rooms to be very clean, with a varied mini bar selection. Perhaps if you are looking to be picky you could find that the ironing board is very average and flimsy for a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast buffet is really good, with plenty of choice.
I would have have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms that look across the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJay2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us; in particular the breakfast served in Chameleon Restaurant. The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington for another enjoyable stay.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

The location was excellent being close to the shops and waterfront.Staff were friendly and helpful .Rooms were average but reception area on arrival was very nice and spacious.The price we paid per night was very expensive being over $400 for a basic room but we did go there when WOW was on , so it was peak period.Car parking cost extra per night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. The Team and I are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of, if not the best located hotels in Wellington where the staff are consistantly among the best you will find anywhere in New Zealand.
If you dont mind paying a little extra then the Club floors on 8 and 9 give you access to the club lounge with views of the harbour, great quality wines and a well thought through range of boutique beers. You can also enjoy a quiet breakfast away from the husstle of the restaraunt. (Which by the way is excellent)
Has a well equipped gym with the usual machines, free weights and kettle bells.


Very hard to beat in the Capitol!
.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 20's have sea views. The hotel is going through a "discreet" renovation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattski46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the InterContinental experience and all it has to offer, in particular our many facilities including the Club InterContinental Lounge. The team pride themselves on the level of service they provide, so please rest assured I will pass your kind comments on. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavieng, Papua New Guinea
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I don't like having to spend only one night in a good hotel - you can't really appreciate its entirety unless you spend at least two nights, I think. But the single night I had at this inner city InterContinental showed that it had plenty to offer as well as room for improvement.

It is very much a CBD hotel, meaning that its quite handy for sight-seeing, shopping and business. Being located close to the harbour meant that I enjoyed a brisk 5-10 minute walk to my destination, the National Museum. There's also a lively high street shopping precinct just around the corner.

On arrival, my IHG status was acknowledged and I was given a complimentary upgrade - actually a double upgrade to a higher floor room with excellent views of Wellington harbour. I'm guessing the room was last renovated maybe a decade ago as it looked a bit dated. That said, it was very clean and well maintained, and replete with all the standard amenities including soft bathrobes, slippers, mini-bar etc. Added to that those nice little IC perks like complimentary chocolate, mineral water and sweets.

The bathroom also showed its age, but like everything else was very clean and well maintained. Toiletries and bath linen were also excellent quality. Wi-fi connection was not the best; meaning that it was intermittent and not up to speed at all. My dining experience was limited to room service in the form of dinner: lamb shank with creamy mash potato and carrots - very delicious and rounded off with a fresh fruit platter.

But the most important feature of all - the bed - did not disappoint: comfortable, luxurious and festooned with soft and firm pillows. I always regard sleep quality as THE most vital aspect of a room; if you can't sleep well then its hard to give a hotel a tick of approval. This InterContinental definitely gets a tick!

PROS: Central location. Easy access to shops, sight-seeing and business. Good food.
CONS: Needs upgrading. Bad wi-fi connection.

If my report helped in your decision-making, or if you just enjoyed reading it, then please take the time to click the "was this review helpful"? button located below. This is the only feedback I receive, and I appreciate your acknowledgement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExLibris76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear ExLibris76,

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your review. I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay, in particular our central location. I would also like to thank you for your valued feedback; please rest assured we have taken this on board to further improve our service.

I am pleased to announce InterContinental Wellington is currently undergoing a major refurbishment, delivering even further on our promise of authentic luxury in the heart of New Zealand’s capital city. For more information on this please do not hesitate to contact our Team at wellington@ihg.com.

We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Wellington where you will be able to experience one of our newly refurbished guest rooms.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Cool hotel, had fantastic large room on 7th floor with great views, you gotta love Wellington on a good day. Hotel perfectly located to explore Wellington. very good friendly concierge. Good cafe with best breakfast muesli ever just across the road.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear FD67,

Thank you for your kind review. The Team and I are pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to InterContinental Wellington and experienced all the Coolest Little Capital has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely classic hotel. Pay extra for a room with a view as it is worth every cent. Great service by extremely professional staff. Close to all Wellington's city attractions.
Were only there for one night but the gym and pool look stunning.
Amazingly comfortable beds and pillows that you sink into!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am delighted to hear of your wonderful stay; please rest assured I shall pass your kind comments onto the Team. I am also pleased you enjoyed our waterfront views and hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing