We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service great location”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in one of the hotels top rooms. The view from the top floor lounge is stunning. Food disappointing. Concierge excellent, very friendly and helpful. The bathroom needed up dating, shower over the bath for a room that costs over $400 a night, not good enough. The location is very good, fantastic for shopping and eateries.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay overall, in particular our central location and waterfront views. The team and I are glad you enjoyed the service delivered by our In the Know Concierge team; I will be sure to pass these comments on. Please rest assured we have taken your feedback on board to further improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    434
    152
    44
    20
See reviews for
160
547
103
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We used to love this hotel. It is in a perfect spot, easily located as the building stands out among the rest, lovely rooms and facilities. All those are still there but the service lets it down. You no longer feel valued but patronised and put up with instead. What was once the best restaurant in town now serves terrible breakfast and over priced, uninspiring dinner. The concierges have minimal knowledge of the city and are unable to offer any directions outside of Lambton Quay. They should all take lessons from the club staff who know how to engage guests with friendly and attentive service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunty-MacMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the shortfalls you experienced, as this is something we take very seriously. Please do not hesitate to contact me at wellington@ihg.com if you wish to discuss these points in further detail. I am however pleased to hear you enjoyed the service delivered by our wonderful Club Lounge Team. We hope to have chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington to further restore your confidence.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel frequently whilst on business in NZ. It is a pleasant hotel in a central location. The rooms are large and comfortable with a desk that gives a view of the entire room including TV with a bed that is very comfortable and a couple of lounge chairs. The bathroom is very functional and the toiletries they provide exceed what most hotels provide. The hotel is centrally located in the CBD, but is also close to the waterfront with many people utilising the running tracks nearby. The gym is well also well equipped. The restaurants are very good with a number of choices in the hotel and nearby. The staff are very helpful without really going the extra mile. The Internet seems okay and was included in my room rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. The team and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to experience our many facilities; including our Emerge Health Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Capital City and InterContinental Wellington again soon.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent hotel good location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very good. Nice pool. Excellent restaurants nearby especially Shed 5 which is just across the road from the hotel. Concierge very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The team and I were delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and the 5 star service provided. We look forward to welcoming to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Good sized room, although a little dated, no complaints about the room. The hotel is centrally located, I was on level 2 and there was a bit of street noise.
The concierge staff were very friendly and helpful, the woman who seated us at breakfast was not, in fact she didnt even say good morning. Overall nothing wrong with the hotel but for the price I think you could get better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location and the service delivered by our Concierge team. I am however disappointed to hear this service was not continued during your breakfast; please rest assured this is not at all indicative of our usual high standards and for this I am sincerely sorry. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington to further restore your confidence.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stay here reasonably regularly. Service from staff is always attentive and this stay was no exception. Rooms are being done up which is good to see as they were getting dated. Always get a good sleep with great beds and pillow options.
Only gripe was that there was no hot drink or coffee service in the lobby the Friday night we were there. Couldn't understand this at all. Does the hotel only have one coffee machine for expresso coffee?

Room Tip: Harbour views are great. Otherwise you look onto office blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blowenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your recent review. I am glad to hear you enjoy the 5 star service delivered by our fantastic team and that this stay was no exception. I am also pleased you enjoy our range of pillow options we offer when staying at the hotel. As for the coffee incident please accept my sincere apologies, we have not come across this issue before so I will be sure to investigate this with the appropriate manager. Please do not hesitate to contact me further at wellington@ihg.com so I may speak with you in further detail.
Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location of this hotel. Close to shops, restaurants and attractions. Stayed on the 9th floor Club level. Well appointed lounge, good breakfast and canapes of a night. The only negative would be that bedrooms are a little tired and in need of a reburbishment. However, I understand that this is in near future. Would definately stay at this hotel if in Wellington again.

Room Tip: Any room on the Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. The Team and I are glad you enjoyed your recent Club InterContinental experience in particular the Continental breakfast and Canapés served in our Club Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing