We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I like this hotel; small enough to be personal; large enough to be an international standard hotel. The lobby is a little compact and gets noisy when the bar is even three-quarters full, and the rooms are small, but the service here is excellent. The concierge staff are among the best I've found - they have great local knowledge, recommendations, and can make the trip worth it. It's a little on the pricey side, but frankly, service is excellent and it has all you need to do business in this beautiful city. It's just minutes walk from some of the best restaurants in Wellington.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for your taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciated our central location. We constantly strive to deliver our guests exceptional service, so I am pleased to read all your wonderful comments regarding our Concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our party of four enjoyed our recent two night stay at this hotel. It is a very central location for sightseeing, shopping and dining and and it was a short walk across the road to the WOW venue. The rooms are pleasant if a little dated and the staff helpful. We found the concierge staff went the extra mile and were very obliging. We ate before the show at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the experience. The meals were of a high standard and are to be reccommended. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding your stay with us
earlier in the month. It sounds like you had a wonderful time in
Wellington during the World of Wearable Art Award Show; I am pleased we
were able to be a part of this experience. The Team and I look forward to
welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.
Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Since this was the most expensive hotel in Wellington (and an Intercontinental, no less) I had high expectations. The lobby was nice enough, sparkly with a modern lobby/bar area, but the room was disappointing.

Although a good size, the furniture was very dated. The decor was a bland 1980s peach shade, the lighting was of the same era, and the bedside table looked like something from the Apollo space craft; knobs and switches to turn on lights and the tiny integrated digital clock. The bathroom was also dated, and more akin to what you might find in a Travel-lodge today (albeit a bit more roomy).

This aside, the room was large, clean and the bed comfortable. Wellington is a wonderful city and in itself a little dated - which is all part of the character. Hence why when seen in this context, the hotel room actually seems very nice. I would look to stay elsewhere next time, but wouldn't warn you away from this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boozle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is a little tired and could do with a makeover (particularly in the rooms) but the staff are friendly and helpful and the bar / restaurant are quite nice. I certainly wouldn’t rate this as 5 stars but its close and based on other hotel experiences in Wellington this would be one of my choices. The location cannot be beaten with plenty of shops, bars, cafes, restaurants and the waterfront right on your doorstep. The hotel leans towards the business market rather than leisure and the prices are a little on the high side but overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The staff are all very accommodating. We stayed at the club room at the 8th floor with the great view of the harbour and the city. The location is perfect for the museums, cable car and shopping. The club guests have free valet. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HF0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a night here to see the WOW show. This hotel is close to everything, harbor cafes, stage shows, shopping ,railway etc. Rooms are a good size and the beds are very comfortable. As the hotel was very busy we got an upgrade to a club room . We ate there as well and the food was excellent although we felt like an animal at the zoo as we were sitting by the large floor to ceiling window as people , cars etc went past . Staff were excellent and very friendly . Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room to get good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pukek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our flight to Wellington got us to the hotel by midday,as the hotel was very busy our room was not available .( we had arrived before normal check in time) Off to the restaurant for a quick lunch before our meeting,only to be turned away because of a private function,we were told we could eat in the lobby bar if we could find a table!(all tables and chairs full)
Eventually we got a small table and had a rushed lunch ,not five star.Checked to see if room ready,got an upgrade to club level( thank you ) but not allowed lounge access....no problem.
Assume the room is a better type of room,but it was tired!
The reading chair fabric was either very worn or very dirty...not sure which.The bed was very comfortable with great pillows ,so we had a very good sleep.The bathroom was ok but would benefit from a refurb.
After having just stayed at the intercontinental in Sydney ,the Wellington property just did not compare .The whole hotel felt tired,luckily most of the staff were friendly and helpful ,which helped to make up for the physical shortcomings

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whakatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 47 in Wellington
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $135 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing