We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Internet came as a shock”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Slow Internet came as a shock”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As you expect, you get a very good service and good night sleep in any intercontinental, food specially the breakfast is very good. Nice swimming pool gym Spa facility. I enjoyed an early morning swimming. Totally made my day. However the internet speed was horrible. I really suffered specially in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the internet service; this is something we review on a regular basis so your feedback is appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall; especially your early morning swims in Emerge Health Club. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    434
    152
    44
    20
See reviews for
160
547
103
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My partner and I recently took a 2 week driving holiday around the North Island and alternated between staying in basic accommodation and ritzing it up every 2nd or 3rd stop. We actually booked the InterContinental on lastminute.com as a secret deal and we were really pleased as it was fantastic value :) We had a standard King room for 3 nights, and although we were on the wrong side of the hotel to get a view, we both loved the location, the incredibly comfortable bed and the wonderful staff. Everyone from the reception/check in staff, the concierge, the club lounge manager and the valet car parking guys were fantastic, very helpful, full of recommendations and advice and only too happy to go out of their way for a couple of scruffy Aussies. We travel a lot, and based on this experience, we will always try and stretch the budget to include InterContinentals in our adventures! and if you can get it at a discounted rate why not?!

Room Tip: Mondays are the busiest night in Wellington so book well in advance or check online for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. It sounds like you and your partner had a great time on your recent trip to New Zealand; I am pleased you had the chance to visit us in Wellington. The team pride themselves on their 5 star service so they were delighted to hear of your fantastic stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washinton DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed at the InterCon for 2 days for work. The hotel was fantastic - the room, gym, location were all great. That said, what really separates this hotel is its staff, especially the front desk and concierge staff. Specifically, Mark at the concierge desk, was incredibly helpful with recommendations for my stay in Wellington as well as my stops after Wellington.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had the chance to experience Emerge Health Club. I would also like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service provided by our great team in particular Mark from Concierge. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived later than expected and we were greeted by great staff. We upgraded our room and had drinks & canapes by Saki (from club room) an absolute treasure and asset to your business. The staff at the breakfast buffet were ordinary, but were more than made up by Mark from conceirge, who was outstanding with his enthusiasm and great knowledge and assistance.The room was comfortable and very central to site seeing.

Room Tip: Buffet ordinary - go out to the many cafes availalbe, if you have an upgraded room as between 5-7 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. It’s great to see you had the chance to explore all the Capital city has to offer during your stay. The team and I were pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding the service provided as this is something they pride themselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We got into Wellington late, but we were greeted by the friendliest staff who made every effort to make us feel welcome and help us with everything we needed. Nothing felt like too much trouble. The room was nice and the location handy. Would recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMaryMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the 5 star service provided by our team, I will be sure to pass these wonderful comments on. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Capital city and InterContinental Wellington.

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Intercontinental Hotel in Wellington is perfectly situated on the harbour. The staff are extremely accommodating and pleasant. The club room offered nice little sample tastings each night along with the usual cheeses and snacks. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The spa king club room was roomy and the tub was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide so I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is ideally suited for travellers on official duties or biz. It is convenient.

However it falls short of a 5-star hotel. Facilities or items that you take for granted in premium hotels are missing. There is no tooth brush, tooth paste and room slippers. They also do not deliver newspaper to your doorstep (I did not request but had took it as given)

The chameleon, cafe where breakfast is served, has a decent spread but the venue is small. There is strong internet connectivity if you are located near the lift lobby but the peripheral rooms could lack such reliable access. The rates aren't cheap either unless you choose to stay at the club floor.

The room sizes may vary as those at the corner (near the lift lobby) tend to be bigger. Rooms are clean but otherwise nothing exceptional.

The service standard is up to mark and prompt. I expected more but I can live with it.

Room Tip: Get a room near the lift lobby for better wireless acess and bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecSoviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our central location and had the chance to experience Chameleon Restaurant. We appreciate your comments regarding internet and amenities in the rooms, rest assured we have taken these on board. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington.
Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing