We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a single fault - it is brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a single fault - it is brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed in a suite on the top floor in this hotel... it is amazing, that is all I can say!!

The rooms are pure class - modern but with classic influence. They are spacious, everything is in its place. The beds are amazing. The food is delicious.

I have stayed in a tonne of hotels in my time and I can probably say that this might be the only hotel I have stayed at so far that doesn't really have any faults that I need to point out.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I was pleased to hear you appreciated your Club InterContinental experience and enjoyed our many hotel facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    418
    149
    43
    19
See reviews for
153
528
97
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights and it was to the standard you would expect. Good service, good room, good food and the location was close to the water. Only complaint was after a 22 hour journey from the uk my room was not ready, even though I arrived after 3 pm. I was asked to wait in the bar area. No offer of a cuppa while I waited and on observing what was going on at check in I did feel forgotten. A pain under normal circumstances but after literally coming half way around the world I thought this was bad service. Once over that everything was fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suepem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your overall stay in particular our waterfront location. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times and I would like you to rest assured that the challenges you encountered at check in are not indicative of our usual high standards. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington.

Kind regards
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was here for work so I quite often end up staying here. The rooms are clean and quite fancy and the check in process rivals top international hotels. All in all a good experiance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. I was glad to share such lovely comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Capital and InterContinental Wellington.

Best Regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Good 5 star hotel with everything you expect from an international 5 star hotel chain. Could probably do with a bit of an upgrade but the rooms are relatively large and are very comfortable, and are well kept and clean.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Wellington and enjoyed the 5 star service we delivered. The team will be pleased to hear of these wonderful comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to "The Coolest Little Capital".

Best regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

Spent a long weekend here hasnt changed much in the last 15 years but still great service and location. The onsite restaurants and Arizona next door offer great food and good value will definately return

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay at our hotel in particular your dinning experience in Chameleon Restaurant and Arizona. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was booked as a mystery hotel via last minute dot com. I wish I had booked this for the other three nights I gad in Wellington. From the moment I arrived we where greeted by staff who where very happy to be there. Was offered a paid upgrade when checking in and was great value. 110.00NZ$ for a club room, valet parking, full breakfast for two, club lounge with afternoon tea and evening drinks.This was great value as parking in Wellington is insanely priced ( 8.00$ per two hours for on the street parking!! )

The lounge staff ( Lauren ) made my trip, helpful, friendly, nothing was too much of a problem. When I asked about a seal tour, Lauren went downstairs and brought the concierge up.

Wake up calls come with eaither coffee or tea, very nice touch.

Room was large, full bath, opening windows. The only con was power points, I travel with too many portable devices, laptop, phone, tablet finding a power point in that room is a chore. Either mini bar area or bathroom, but strangley none at the work desk!

Ended up adding a extra night at the end of the trip so I could stay again, the staff are really that amazing.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the club rooms, worth the price for all the added extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosscoe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel and you were able to experience our Club InterContinental facilities. The staff pride themselves on the service they deliver and they were glad to hear such kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Wellington in the near future.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel centrally located on the harbor in Wellington. Very close to the cable car and museums. The service was absolutely outstanding. We were continually greeted by every staff member with whom we came into contact. Our room was beautifully decorated. The concierge staff were very helpful with maps and directions and dining recommendations. I was most impressed that when you request a wake up call, you can also receive complimentary coffee service at your door simultaneously with the call. Valet parking. Expansive breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a view of the harbor have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I was glad to hear you had a fantastic
stay. Our team pride themselves on the five star service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with the staff in particular our Concierge department. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to InterContinental Wellington very soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Hamilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Wellington

Property: InterContinental Wellington
Address: 2 Grey Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#1 Family Hotel in Wellington
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#4 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Wellington's waterfront, InterContinental Wellington is the most centrally-located and experienced global five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital city. It is the seamless and personal service of the team that makes your Wellington experience truly memorable. Spend time with the award-winning concierge team whose tips and insider knowledge can help you discover Wellington arts, events, shopping, and culinary cultures. Whether you choose a standard room or upgrade to a fully-refurbished Deluxe Guestroom you will always stay connected with state of the art technology. Awake rejuvenated after a tranquil night's sleep from your brand new bed with a personalised wake up service. Treat yourself by selecting a Club InterContinental Guestroom or Suite. These offer access to the world-class newly recreated Club InterContinental Lounge with expansive harbour views which will leave you feeling impressed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Wellington Hotel Wellington
Wellington Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing