We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$133
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$171
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
$90
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,629)
Filter reviews
1,629 results
Traveler rating
888
496
176
49
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
496
176
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungechameleon restaurantpre dinner drinksbooked a club roomconcierge staffwake up callan upgradenew zealandcable carharbour viewpillow menubed was very comfortablea bit tiredvalet parkinglocation is excellentbars and restaurantsthe heart of the city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,425 - 1,430 of 1,629 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay here. The location is really as good as you can get in Wellington. The service in all areas was excellent. Breakfast was very good and dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the dessert, in particular, had a lot of eye appeal and was delicious. We ate a light meal in the bar one evening and were happy with that, too. And on of the bartenders there could make on of the best chocolate martinis ever! Our room was not large, but it was comfortable. Our stay here was great, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your meals in Chameleon Restaurant as well as the chocolate cocktails in The Lobby Lounge. The team takes pride in delivering great service and I was delighted to read your review praising their work. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Very nice hotel and great location close to wharf. We used Priority club which gave us access to business centre ( 9th floor ) and included afternoon tea, drinks 5-7, breakfast. Staff were excellent being very friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: Use Priority club
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMaxKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Club InterContinental Lounge experience and the hotel’s close proximity to Wellington’s finest attractions. We look forward to providing the same friendly and accommodating service when you return in the near future.
Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were in Wellington for a brief business trip and stayed at the Intercontinental for one night. From the moment we arrived everyone we dealt with were extremely friendly, helpful and they all went out of their way to assist where needed. The valet service was so easy, convenient and friendly. We couldn't fault any of the staff they were wonderful. The view from the room across to the bay was also lovely. We will definitely be back to stay at your hotel on our next business trip. Clare 18 May 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare_forsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased to inform you we have shared your comments with the team – your feedback was of great encouragement to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Wellington.
Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed here on Saturday night. The hotel is idealy located for shopping in the heart of the city and a short walk or taxi to theatres or stage shows.
Upon arrival we were met by charming young porter who offered advice on parking under the hotel. Very obliging. Check in was quick and polite. Our room was lovely - quiet, clean and fairly spacious. The Bed very comfy with crisp linen and a choice of pillows.
We had dinner in the Hotel restaurant prior to going to a show at the St James Theatre. Waiter was very friendly, humorous and efficient making sure we had ordered and received our meal quickly as we had limited time. We chose to have desert in the hotel bar after the show. It didn't dissapoint and we sparked a frenzy of desert orders once we had received ours.
The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had and checkout was again very polite and efficient.

Room Tip: Book early for a superb mid priced room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as your meals in Chameleon Restaurant, and we have shared your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel for another romantic stay very soon.
Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Was in Wellington for work so only needed a bed and met my needs. Room size okay, bed a bit small but okay for solo guest. Decor a bit tired. Breakfast very mediocre.
Going back for leisure soon, and this time in club room, so hoping for something a little better.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bajusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinentalWgtn, General Manager at InterContinental Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2011

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to learn that your room and breakfast did not meet your expectations and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon and showing you the Club InterContinental experience.
Best regards,
Steven Greenwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews