We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel - Noisy room”
Review of Quest Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Wellington
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Pros - Central location, good sized room, friendly staff, nice shower and bathroom, comfotable bed.

Cons - Room overlooked street, lots of noise from traffic and drunk people (but it was sevens weekend so all good!).. Room was expensive but again it was sevens weekend.

Would I stay here again? Yes if rooms were a little cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biglobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

We pre-booked the Quest several months in advance for approx 15 people. We had several changes in the booking which were all confirmed by the staff there. Once we arrived our bookings were all wrong, the parking and breakfast that was supposed be included and to which we had confirmation of was "not included now". We were questioned about the booking but the management never bothered to check into the acutal paper trial and emails until we insisted we were not wrong. Really poor service with no apologies at all. Very poor management skills. We had customers with us from overseas and all around New Zealand and the whole exercise became very stressful. After returning home I re-sent all emails with the hope of resolving the issues we had, that was two weeks ago and we are still no further ahead. What a joke.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questwgtn, General Manager at Quest Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Quest Wellington has new owners, and hence we are committed to ensuring this historic landmark building is treated with the respect she deserves. We have embarked on a refresh programme and the cleanliness of the property was our first priority. Now that she is clean we have embarked on refreshing the rooms with new beds & bedding, carpets steam clean and new window coverings. Maree and the team look forward to seeing you at Quest Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. I had booked several rooms for friends and family, as we were all attending a family wedding. Everything about the hotel was pleasing - big rooms, huge bathrooms, kitchen and washing facilities. The location is unbeatable if you are going to be in downtown Wellington. You can walk everywhere, in fact I would recommend you do so, it is much easier than trying to drive. All of our party were happy with my choice of hotel and would stay again. Just remember that the rooms are not serviced on Sundays, so be sure to stock up at the fantastic supermarket down the street. We also used the babysitting facility which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

run down, overpriced, broken window locks and dirty.
never again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We arrived early evening and the place was closed. I had to contact someone through the intercom on the street. The intercom is as old as the hotel, sounds like one of your grandfather's 78s, and cuts out after a minute. I had to call in twice to ask about parking (answer: wherever). No staff inside, Just an envelope with my name on it and a key inside. Incidentally, how hard would it be to include a small map and instructions for parking in the envelope with the key?
We got up to the room (two bedroom suite). In retrospect, we should have left right there, but we had driven quite away and were tired.
It has that smell ... you know when something bad has happened and they keep spraying powerful odour-killing sprays everywhere which have that sickly sweet aroma? Well, the place smells like that.
The bedrooms are barely bigger than the bed.
The TV is so small and the couch so far away it is like watching TV on your ipod, but not as clear.
The kitchen ... The distance between the worktop and the wall cabinet is so small that anyone over 5 foot has to cook all hunched over. Think Quasimodo frying an egg.
The actual cooking surface is a two burner hob. But the frying pan is bigger than the hob so it won't touch the hot surface. There is no oven.
There is one sharp knife. I tried to cut a tomato with it but ended up mangling it so badly it scared the kids. I'd have been better off using a teaspoon.
In the morning, we found that two of our party were especially appealing to some kind of bug that lived there, having woken up with itchy red welts.
We checked out as soon as we could.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zombocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We had two apartments, one on the 2nd floor and one on the 4th floor. 2nd floor had no light at all as building wall was outside window blocking all natural light. Bulbs were low wattage so was very depressing. Both apartments had absolutely filthy curtains, filthy carpets, chairs and couches. Showers were dirty, room was musty and corridors were smelly and dated. Even the blankets were stained but sheets were clean. This was such a disappointment to us, we stayed 1 night instead of 2, then booked into somewhere else. This whole building needs a complete makeover and someone to supervise the cleaning. Why is this classed a 4 star rating when it should be 1?
We will never stay there again and is a disgrace to our tourist rating guide.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadbayofplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Myself and 3 other female friends stayed one night in a 2 brm apartment when we went to Wellington for the Wearable Arts. I picked this place on location and price. 100 m from TSB Arena and $235 incl a very basic breakfast for 4. After reading the most recent review a few days beforehand I was concerned about my choice. I e-mailed the Quest and mentioned my concerns. The service I received was great. Several prompt responses from Rean(not sure what position he holds) and an offer to put us in two separate rooms for the same price so one of us would not have to sleep on a rollerbed in the lounge. We declined this offer but appreciated it all the same. The apartment was very dated but clean apart from two huge scorch marks on the carpet where the heater had obviously fallen off the wall. The bedrooms are very small. The breakfast was orange juice/cordial, single serve box of ricies, two bits of bread and spreads each. We always intended to eat out so it was irrelevant There was a 'mustyish smell' in the corridors and the lifts were slowish. There was a lot of audible street noise all night from the 6th floor. We spent less than 8 hours there. All in all we thought it was fine for a night especially beacuse of its proximity to the TSB Arena BUT this place does not seem to have been updated recently despite what they say and really could use a facelift and then it would be infinitely better.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,198 reviews
0.0 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Wellington

Address: 33 Hunter Street | (Cnr Hunter Street & Lambton Quay), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $90 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Quest Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing