We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of 88 Wallace Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88 Wallace Court
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location for walking distance to Wellington Hospital or central city (Approx 20 mins to city walking)
Owner Helen very nice, friendly and accommodating.
Rooms clean, modern, great pressure in showers, fresh towels every day.
Dairy 2 minutes down road.
Nice and warm and all rooms North facing.
Lots of off street parking.
Good value for money. 3 of us shared a room for only only $55 each
Nice clean crisp white sheets.

Room Tip: All north facing Ask for downstairs room if unable to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallaceCourt, Owner at 88 Wallace Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thanks for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

Excellent basic accomodation without the frills and congestion of being downtown. Staff, cleanliness, pricing are all great. We walked into and out of the city core with ease. The building is older- but well maintained and clean. Kudos to the owners!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallaceCourt, Owner at 88 Wallace Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks for you comments. We look forward to seeing you if you are 'down under' again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Motel was quite handy with bus stop right across the road, it is still within reasonable walking distance to city, it cost me about $3.00 to take the bus back from town.
Hostess was friendly, unit was sufficient in a lot of aspects clean and compact. One thing that did not sit right with me was on our last day (we stayed for 2 days) we were packing up all ready to go, majority of our stuff was in the car, just sitting on the bed waiting for my dad in the toilet when the hostess came over to say and not so friendly too; guys it's 10 checkout we need to get room cleaned, in my defence it was 10 am on the dot, also I have stayed in so many places before and when we did happen to be 5-10 minutes late there is a thing called tolerance and also as guests you expect to be treated like one. Restaurants don't kick you out when you're still having your meal past closing time, do they? All I am saying is this could have been avoided easily should the hostess knew a thing or two about hospitality

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aspiring_Traveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallaceCourt, Owner at 88 Wallace Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We have addressed your concerns regarding check out time with our staff and are confident this wont happen again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My small son and I really enjoyed our stay here on our mini break to Wellington. Our unit was very clean and comfortable, with a flat screen tv, spotlessly clean microwave and fridge, and plenty of room for my son to play with his toys. Lovely friendly and helpful owners, who lent me a cot for free and helped me to put it up. A bit of noise from neighbours on the first night, but that's not the motel's fault. Good location too, only 15 minutes walk or a very short drive down to Te Papa etc. Would definitely recommend. I ended up staying an extra night!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelkaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I recently stayed at 88 Wallace Court Motel to support a very sick father who was in Wellington Hospital. Nothing was too much trouble for this great host who showed genuine interest for the welfare of my Dad and that everything was ok with us at all times.

Great location with buses to the inner city just a 5 minute ride, easy walk to the hospital.

Rooms comfortable and quiet.

Highly recommend this accommodation provider.

Phil

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We wanted a quiet motel where we could recuperate from long flights and see some of the sights of Wellington. Our hosts met us at the railway station and took us to the motel - a great welcome after a long trip. Our accommodation was clean and comfortable, and Helen was a great source of local knowledge and helped us to plan not only our stay in Wellington but also South Island. We followed her suggestions during the rest of our trip. The motel was in the suburbs, but plenty buses to the city centre passed the door.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

First the good points .. pleasant owners .. quiet location .. clean .. comfortable bed .. located on main bus route into town (Wellington BusAbout Day Pass $9) .. reasonable laundry charges (5$) .. free WiFi (up to a modest 100MB limit) .. relatively cheap. Now the bad .. very tired accommodation in need of comprehensive refurbishment .. located in down at heel area of city which appears to be frequented mainly by students .. few places to eat locally (however, food at the one - rather scruffy - establishment we tried was of good quality and nicely presented).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAWDidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.9 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
1.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 46 in Wellington
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#28 of 46 in Wellington
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#9 of 46 in Wellington
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Wallace Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Wallace Court

Address: 88-90 Wallace Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $82 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Wallace Court 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 88 Wallace Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing