We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic hotel with old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed June 11, 2014

had an excellent stay at this great old-school style hotel. style more like a rod and gun store. very comfortable rooms, beds, bathroom - all upgraded beautifully. Staff very welcoming and friendly, an excellent cooked breakfast and very good coffee. highly recommended and convenient for work in the centre.

Room Tip: 4th floor are higher grade and larger
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Thank you for such a nice review. We will pass on to the staff your comments as I know they endeavor to look after our guests. They also enjoy working in such a lovely building. We hope you can return to stay in the future.
Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Wellesley Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

A great place to stay in the heart of the capital, warm friendly staff, good breakfast Parking out front in the public car park on the roadside was ok for my meeting mid morning, late check in was also ok

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. That you for your charming comments. We look forward to having you stay again in the future.
Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Sure, there are plenty of hotels in Wellington, but why go for just another chain or modern style when you can experience the charms of the Wellesley? My husband and I absolutely adored our stay. The staff were truly exceptional; in particular one evening after arriving back from dinner, we began conversing with the lovely night manager, which then turned into a wonderful behind the scenes tour of the whole hotel, along with stories of its heritage. I've never quite seen anything like it. I've had good customer service, but this was hands down exceptional. Lovely to know there are still good-hearted people out there who truly take pride in their work - and in this case, pride in the building's rich history. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff so good. Our aim is to provide excellent service and ensure that our guests have a memorable stay as you obviously have. We are proud of our Heritage building and love to share it with guests. We love receiving compliments! We hope you can stay again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I'm not such a fan of new and modern for hotels, much prefer old style or quirky. I was delighted to find the Wellesley in the heart of Wellington. This historic building, now a hotel with less than 20 rooms, has worked hard to maintain it's heritage character, from the black and white foyer floor to the old style lift. Every inch a stately old lady..

While the building maintains as much of its character as practical, it is combined with beautifully appointed bathrooms (a must for me), pillow menu and room service. The bar area boasts a large open fire and comfortable seating with an adjoining dining area (yummy breakfast).

If you're tired of stark and modern, try the Wellesley for some old world class.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackstilletos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for writing such a glowing review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found that the staff looked after you. We are proud of our Heritage building and are more than happy to share it with guests who appreciate the "Old World" charm of it.
Kathleen Brooker
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A short drive from the ferry led us to this hotel. Although booking.com states there is no parking at the hotel there is a public parking garage just across the street and on street parking is free from 1800-0800. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room is spacious and well restored. We had a ceiling about 15 feet high. Walk easily to many restaurants. Internet access while free is doled out in 50Mb accounts. The staff provided all the accounts we requested but running through the data and having to relog in is a nuisance but common in New Zealand. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BKbeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are very complimentary. We do aim to to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. With regard to your comments about internet access ....... Our present internet contract only allows limited access but we are presently replacing it with a contact which gives "unlimoited access" and we will then be able to be more generous.
Thank you for your positive review.
Regards, Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

A very quick stopover inbetween a late arrival of the Northern Explorer into Wellington and catching the ferry the following morning. Our room, 'Budd', was a lovely sanctuary - flowery china teacups, heritage room with gorgeous ceiling corniche, vintage furnishings and a traditional black/white tiled bathroom with claw bath, separate shower, two washbasins and full range of toiletries. The interior of the hotel is lovely with a winding staircase and comfortable seating area. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: 'Budd' room is a lovely traditional room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Guest Relations Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are delighted you found it to your satisfaction. We do aim to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience. We are sorry your stay was so short and would be delighted to welcome you back at a future date.
Kathleen
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed three nights and had a fabulous time. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a great room with this incredible high ceiling. We had fun with the old time elevator. The location is terrific - close to the bus/rail station and cable car.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank krg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandk135nz, Owner at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your comments are much appreciated. We are glad you found the staff so helpful and friendly and taht you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to you staying again if you return to Wellington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Johnston
Quest on Johnston
#34 of 46 in Wellington
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity Street | Central Business District, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $99 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing