We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Canberra
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, good location”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at the Wellesley Boutique Hotel for five nights from Sunday 10th February 2013. I stayed in a Classic Room. This room had a king size bed, two sitting chairs, a coffee table, a wardrobe, a writing desk and a large TV. There were bedside lights each side of the bed and adequate power points around the room for my various devices. There was a bar fridge, kettle and tea making facilities, hair dryer, and good quality bathroom soap/shampoo etc. The shower was over the bathtub. The air conditioning worked well, and I could also open the window to get the nice breeze. I booked the hotel partly because it had free wifi, which I found very useful. It was operated by getting free vouchers from reception - it would have been good if these vouchers had been for more than 5M since I went through at least two vouchers each day. However, the reception didn't have any problems with giving me more vouchers.

I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was quiet, the staff were excellent, and the ambience was lovely. The linen/towels etc were very good and the bed was very comfy.

The hotel is at one end of the wharf district and very close to shops. It is also walking distance from a supermarket which is up the hill past the National Library, if you need more than the basic essentials.

There wasn't a system to say that you wanted your room made up but didn't need new towels, but I believe they are thinking of bringing this system in soon. An outside caller can ring your room but needs to go through the central switchboard first. It would have been better if my family could have called directly.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jal_lead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    88
    43
    17
    8
See reviews for
13
150
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wellington is full of character and it's great to see accommodation with personality at this price point. We experienced impeccable service from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. There is a genuine grandness about the place; it has an interesting history and we love the historical artworks in the public areas.

The bed was slightly soft for our taste and the TV wasn't flash, but they certainly did the job. A really nice bathroom made up for both. A comprehensive pillow menu is available!

We didn't 'dine in' but the dining space looked nice. The hotel has great access to the waterfront, Cake Tin (Westpac Stadium) and Botanical Gardens Cable Car. The ten minute walk to the Cuba Quarter, one of our must-visit spots, helps to counteract the effects of gastronomical indulgence that is unavoidable in Wellies.

Overall excellent value for money. We'll be back, especially for short personal and business trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Good service and atmosphere - historic building with many original features. Thought has been put into design and furnishing of rooms so all my requirements were met. Good location in the centre of Wellington - close the the Beehive.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked into Wellesley Hotel for only 1 night at the tail end of a weeks trip to the North island. We drove from Napier and were really looking forward to our last night in Wellington before returning to Australia. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from the wharf precinct where all of the action is. We were greeted on check in by a very friendly supervisor who made us feel welcome after our long journey. Check in was quick and we were taken to our two rooms which were on the same floor and that had been requested at booking. The hotel was an old men's club dating back a century and still retains alot of that period charm ie very high ceilings, original decor & many paintings depicting that period in time. The hotel was somewhat busy when we arrived with a wedding on that evening but the staff were still very attentive to our needs and more than happy to suggest some things to do before dinner. The rooms were comfortable and we especially liked the large bathroom with a period tub, and in a first for us, we noticed in the compendium that you can select from a range of different pillows if the standard pillows in the room aren't to your liking so we did and had new one's delivered to the room when we returned from our walk. Wellington is an easy city to navigate and you don't need a car to see most of the downtown sites and restaurants. I'd suggest that the wharf is the most popular place to take in the beautiful location that makes Wellington so special. Given we arrived late in the afternoon and didn't have a dinner reservation, most of the places we tried were already booked and some had private functions. There is still several other places to try if you venture away from the wharf and head to the CBD area where there are a few pubs. Since we were not really up to waiting for a table at one of the other restaurants we opted to eat at Maginnity's located inside the Wellesley Hotel and felt this was the perfect place to eat & relax without having to travel anywhere. Unfortunately the only issue we had with the hotel was that public works going on outside on the street when we arrived knocked out the TV reception meaning that no one in the hotel could watch TV. This was unfortunate and in know way was the hotel's fault but it could have been an issue if we had stayed for longer. We all had a restfull night's sleep and would definately recommend Wellesley to anyone looking for clean, convenient accommodation and friendly service.

Room Tip: Away from the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you like historic buildings with some history and want a bolt hole for a weekend in Wellington then this is the place. There is an old world ambience to the hotel. We picked the room up on Last Minute and it was great value for the one night that we were there. It is close to the waterfront and the main shopping strip. The rooms have beautiful bathrooms with claw foot baths and the room we had at the back of the building was very quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a leisurely walk around the Wellington waterfront watching the street entertainment and stopped at a pub for a pre-dinner beer. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. It was well appointed, quiet and the staff were friendly and only to willing to help with any enquiries we had. It's a couple of minute walk from the shopping strip and from the restaurants on the harbour. We'll definitely stay there again...

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormboy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Living in style: The Wellesly in Wellington’s CBD, originally being a Gentlemen's Club. Beautiful historic building with a sweeping staircase, leather chairs in front of the fireplace, charming old cage elevator, etc. The service at the reception was attentive and very friendly, the Molton Brown toiletries were exciting – I usually only see those in Europe and they’re just delightful. The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was great. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the room, along with satellite TV, bath robes and slippers, deep soaking clawfooted bath tub and large separate shower. I love the bone china teacups!
5 minutes walk into the centre of Wellington and perhaps 15 minutes from the “Te Papa” Museum.
With some small extra touches it could have been even more lovely. The off putting things were that the lighting in our so called “classic room” was inadequate – almost no daylight as the room was out to the backyard, this could give you a kind of depressive feeling (especially on rainy stormy days – not so rare in Wellington) … . I recommend booking the executive or better rooms for the views of the harbor (if this is really possible). The breakfast-service was friendly, but seemed a little bit slow and around New Year not so professional (unfortunately the restaurant was closed for dinner and lunch).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BURGWIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#21 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Property: Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Address: 2-8 Maginnity Street | (Central Business District), Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing